Skip to content

For the Love of Beans

February 23, 2010

Beans, glorious beans!  Good thing I love ‘em because I sure have eaten my fair share in the past couple of days.  I drained a can of black beans for dinner last night and planned another black bean dinner tonight, so I could put the leftovers to use.

Tonight I decided to channel cookout season – c’mon it was 48! – with Black Bean Burgers.

These are the quickest, easiest burgers to make and you can change them up every time.

I pulled out these ingredients for tonight’s mix:

Black Bean Bonanza!

Ingredients (for one burger):

  • 1/3 c. black beans
  • 1 T. whole wheat breadcrumbs
  • 2 T. salsa
  • 2 T. frozen corn
  • salt, pepper, chili powder, and cumin to taste

Directions:

1. Mash up the beans.  I use a potato masher and it works pretty well.

2. Add remaining ingredients and mix well.

The burger mixture.

3. Form a patty with your hands.

4. Throw that burger on a preheated, non-stick griddle/skillet.  I just spray it with some Pam.

Sizzlin' kitchen!

5. Let the burger get crusty on either side.

6. Top with your favorite burger condiments and enjoy!

***

While my burger cooked, I started my dinner with a crisp salad of romaine, field greens, red peppers, and dried cranberries.

I love to start meals with a fresh salad.

Then, I put together my plate.  Along with the burger – sans bun, I ate a baked sweet potato with cinnamon and some niblets of corn.  I like some heat, so I topped my burger with Frank’s Red Hot.  I’d rather have black bean burgers than beef burgers any day, so this was a very enjoyable meal!

Yum, yum, yum!

I’m off to spend a little more time with the Olympics and In Defense of Food. There’s a good chance something sweet will slip it’s way into my mouth, too – it’s a must!

Evenin’, darlings!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 1:21 am

    I make homemade veggie burgers the same way! It’s so easy and a lot cheaper to just make them yourself. Have a great night :)

  2. February 23, 2010 2:39 pm

    Last night I bought all of the ingredients to make my own lback bean burgers for dinner tonight. Wish me luck!

  3. February 27, 2010 7:07 am

    Oh I like the look of that. I am a flexitarian who is always looking for tasty veggie alternatives, will give this a go tonight!

  4. February 27, 2010 7:48 pm

    Yum cooked it tonight! Very very tasty, thanks!

    • February 27, 2010 7:59 pm

      So glad you enjoyed it! I love quick, simple meals :)

  5. February 27, 2010 11:28 pm

    I was amazed at how quick it was and also how much goodness was in it. Better than my usual Saturday night meal.

    This is the kind of recipe I usually see in a cookbook and think it will be too fiddly to make.

    Also I had never eaten black beans before, very nice!

    I am going to challenge myself to do two weeks on a veggie diet after being inspired by NomeatAthlete and yourself.

Trackbacks

  1. 30 day vegetarian challenge – my meals so far

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

