Skip to content

Reunited

April 26, 2010

…and it feels so good!  My canister of oats was screaming for me this morning.  Dust was building, it said.  The oats were lonely.  I’ve neglected the old-fashioned oats over the past week, but we’re together again.  All is right with the world.

I enjoyed a simple blend this morning.  I wanted to make sure I ate my oats in their purest, oatiest form!

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 3/4 c. water
  • 1/4 c. skim milk
  • 1 banana sliced
  • 1 T. ground flaxseed
  • 1 T. Barney Butter

Just the classics…just what I needed to start fresh this week.  Back to school!

***

Last night I went into total geek mode.  It’s no surprise to those who know me – I’m a geek!  I looked over my training plan and added up my mileage – 271.57 miles of training for 13.1 miles on May 2nd.  I’m excited!

This week is all about tapering.  I will run 2-3 short, easy runs throughout the week.  This is the first time I experience the feelings that go along with tapering.  I feel like I need to move.  Need to run!  I keep reading about tapering and reminding myself that it’s a tried and true running strategy.  I have high hopes!

And another week begins!  Happy Monday!

Any great tips for preparation in the week before a big race? I’d love to learn from you!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 12:48 pm

    Have a great week back at work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

