Skip to content

The Self-Fulfilling Prophecy

April 27, 2010

The self-fulfilling prophecy is basically a statement that affects your actions and becomes true.  For example, saying “This is going to be a terrible, horrible, no-good, very bad day!” will probably lead to just that!  For years, I fulfilled my own prophecy.

I…

  • didn’t like “sports.”
  • was “bad” at all of them.
  • would never be an athlete.
  • was big-boned and curvy, not made to compete.

I repeated these thoughts to myself over and over until they became true.  To be honest, I never really tried.  I was a great student, focused on that, and avoided any chance of failure at all costs! The cost was my health.  By avoiding all forms of physical activity, I was an unhealthy, lethargic 24 year old.  Luckily, a kind person urged me to join the gym and I caved…and loved it!

Finding Running

I’ve always envied runners – their effortless strides, passion, and comradarie.  Once I improved my fitness level, I wanted to run. I began on the treadmill, running a few minutes at a time.  I worked my way up to a 5K distance and entered my first race.  My aunt practically dragged me across that finish line at Bryant University, but I made it!  The bug bit me!  I ran another 5K the following weekend and signed up for the half-marathon a few months later.

As my mileage has crept up and my training winds down, I realize why I love running!

  • Running is an individual sport.  I can participate in competitive events, but only really need to compete with myself.
  • My performance does not directly impact the performance of other runners.
  • I don’t need to think about running when I’m running.  My body can do the work, while my mind can relax and think about other things.
  • I usually end a run feeling better than I did before the run.
  • Running travels well.  It can be done pretty much anywhere, anytime.
  • I became a member of a community of like-minded, passionate people.

On the day I entered the Shape Up RI Half Marathon, my longest run was four miles.  That day I created a new prophecy.  I’m glad I did!  Training has taught me so much about myself.  Regardless of what happens on race day, I am grateful for every mile.

***

Just had to get some sappy thoughts out this morning!  I guess the tapering is giving me extra time to think.  Meanwhile, I ate a pretty unremarkable bowl of oatmeal.

The bowl was much more exciting than the oats!  Don’t you love the cute flower inside?!

I was fresh out of milk this morning, so I had to make my oats with water.  They definitely were lacking the creaminess I have gotten accustomed to.  I also used only half a banana because it was sitting there waiting to be used up.  So….it wasn’t the best bowl, but I have the energy to take on another day.  Sometimes, that’s all you need!

Have an amazing day, my darlings!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 1:07 pm

    Great post. I truly believe that if we tell ourselves we can’t do something, we’ll fail. Negative thoughts only bring negative actions. We have to tell ourselves we CAN :)

  2. April 27, 2010 3:32 pm

    Great post Becky!

    I’m SO proud of you and all that you’ve accomplished. I can’t wait for this weekend…and for October too. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

