Skip to content

Unplug and Unwind

February 14, 2010

As you can imagine, it was a draining afternoon.  I’m fried!  I spent the afternoon with those I love to memorialize a dear friend.  It was wonderful to see the support and love demonstrated by the hundreds who joined together today.

I nibbled on an unpictured Luna bar before the service, but the experience left me drained and ravenous.

We discussed dinner in the car, but nobody could come up with a plan.  Adam went to work, so I decided to just stay in and throw together whatever came to mind.  When I walked in the house, I had to quickly quiet my stomach so I threw together a salad with mixed greens, green peppers, tomatoes, dried cranberries and a splash of raspberry vinaigrette.  It hit the spot.

I knew the salad wasn’t going to cut it for dinner, but I decided to let it digest, while I sipped my new fav – Stash Chocolate Mint Oolong tea.

warm and soothing tea

I read blogs while I sipped and then this spread arrived:

Family's Choice - Chinese

Yikes!  Chinese is not my typical fare, but I decided to work with what I had.  I steamed some veggies to add to the rice and came up with dinner.

rice w/veggies, sesame chicken, and a spoonful of chop suey

It got the job done – an out-of-character dinner for an out-of-character day.  I look forward to snuggling up with my puggle and reading more of what Michael Pollan has to say.

Gotta get to bed early tonight!  Exciting plans with the gym crew at the crack of dawn!

Relax and enjoy your evening, folks.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 12:09 am

    I don’t know how many comments I read from “Beck on the Run” before I put 2 and 2 together.

    Why didn’t you tell me you were starting a blog?!?!

    • February 15, 2010 12:24 am

      Haha! Yes – I kind of started this on a whim. It’s still a baby and needs some work, but I’ve had so many ideas rattling around in my head that I decided to just jump into the blog world! I’m pretty flexible with my running schedule, so we’ll definitely figure something out for the days that you’re home as it gets closer. Also, I’m considering doing the same 5K as you and Jared. I’m not 100% positive, but I’ll definitely keep you posted on what I decide.

Leave a Reply

