Skip to content

Bright and Early

February 15, 2010

“C’mon, Mom!  It’s still dark out!”

Clearly, Lucy is not a fan of the early morning alarm.  I fumbled a little when I heard it, too.  5:05! What would I be doing up at 5:05 on my first day of vacation?! Meeting my ladies at the gym, of course!  I packed my gym bag last night and set out everything I needed, so I got ready in no time.

Some pre-workout fuel:

Whole Grain Cinnamon Raisin Toast w/ Teddie's Crunchy

By 5:30, I was chatting with friends at the gym.  Everyone was pretty surprised when I walked in the door – 12 hours early!  I always exercise after work, but today was a special occasion.  Sarah, of “Sarah’s Run” fame, is leaving today to begin a new adventure.  She will be living abroad for three years.  As a last hurrah, our crew decided to join her for one final workout.

We made our way to the spin room and sweated it out for 45 minutes.  We did a “Spin & Strength” workout, where we incorporated intervals of weight training – off the bike – throughout the class.  I used 7.5 lb dumbbells and a resistance band for the strength sessions.  We worked lots of upper body, which I desperately need!  It was great…and bittersweet.

After spin, we said farewell to Sarah and sent her with our best wishes.

The Gymmies

She left me with a well-loved parting gift.

Hal Higdon's Marathon Training Guide

Does that say MARATHON?!?! I sense new challenges in my future.  Thank you, Sarah!

Of course, I am following a modified version of Hal Higdon’s Half-Marathon Training Guide to prepare for the race in May. According to the plan, we hoped to run 4 m today.  Since, we went to spin beforehand, we decided to throw on our outdoor gear and do a quick 3 m loop instead.  In all of the excitement of the morning, I got sidetracked and started my Garmin a little late, so the stats were all off, but we ran a familiar 3 m loop in ~26 minutes.  Not too shabby!

By the time I got home…at 8:00…it was time to refuel.  Enter “Apple Pie Yogurt.”

warm apples, cinnamon, agave drizzle, sprinkle of granola

I just took the most relaxing, hot shower and I’m ready my first day of school vacation.  YAY!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 2:55 pm

    What a cute pup pick! Just precious 🙂

  2. February 15, 2010 7:13 pm

    Lucy is too cute! I want a dog so badly.

    I really like your blog – sounds like you have a lot of the same running goals as I do. Good luck with the half marathon training!

Leave a Reply

