Skip to content

Book Review

February 16, 2010

Yesterday, I purchased Food Rules by Michael Pollan.  I’ve seen many interviews with Pollan and love what he has to say.  I look forward to reading his other books, but they weren’t at Target, so I decided to start with this.  I dove right in last night and kept going until the last page!  Loved it!

Food Rules is a quick, easy read.  It details guidelines, or “rules,” to eating well and developing a healthy relationship with food.  The rules are clear, but leave the reader with room for interpretation.  Pollan departs from the typical food science angle that many healthy living books promote and instead encourages simple, traditional ways of eating.  The content of the book really reaffirmed my personal food philosophies.

I would love to share this book with so many people, but I will keep this copy in my personal collection because I know I will enjoy rereading it from time to time.   It only made me want to read In Defense of Food more.  I see a Barnes & Noble trip in my  future!

***

In other news…I LOVED my first day of February vacation….ahhhh the perks of the job! After I kicked my own booty at the gym, I relaxed for awhile before heading out for the day.  I had big plans – the dentist! Most people hate the dentist, but my aunt is my hygienist, so we get to chat throughout the appointment and its usually pretty painless.

Look at them pearly whites!  Gotta love a good cleaning – and a hygienist that understands photos for blogging purposes. Maintaining my smile is just another piece of living a healthy life.

As if one photo wasn’t enough, I decided to truly enter the blog world with a classic “red-light photo shoot.”

All smiles - I'm on vacation!!

I spent the rest of the day with my gram, aunts, and cousins.  We enjoyed spending time together and catching up.  I am a sucker for family time and hate to miss out on any sort of gatherings.

Vacation Day 1 = Great!

Can’t wait to enjoy tomorrow – starting off with a morning of power yoga!

Sweet dreams to all!


One Comment leave one →
  1. February 16, 2010 1:42 pm

    I loved The Omnivore’s Dilemma and have In Defense of Food on my list. I guess I’ll have to pick up Food Rules next!

Leave a Reply

