Skip to content

Bustin’ Out of Boredom

February 17, 2010

Yesterday was a pretty lazy day.  I blogged, napped, cooked, ate…the usual snowy day activities.  Last night I decided to bust out!  I ventured out into the snow to tackle the crazy, crowded Market Basket.  The stars must’ve aligned because Mom and I zipped through the store in no time!  And guess what’s next door to Market Basket?  Barnes and Noble! I was finally able to buy In Defense of Food – perfect for vacation reading.

The necessities!

…with some dark chocolate thrown in for good measure!  I love these extra dark chocolates because there are 18 bite-sized blocks in the package.  It makes it so much easier to indulge when the pieces are already portioned out.  And they are delicious!

***

I woke up this morning ready to move.  I made plans to meet my aunt at the gym for a treadmill workout. I munched on some pre-workout fuel and came up with a plan.

The usual pre-run breakfast.

Our training plan called for a 4 m run, but I know that would be – dare I say – BORING! So I jotted down this plan to keep us in check:

45 Minute Interval Run

  • 0-5 min –    4.0 mph (warm up)
  • 5-7 min –    6.3 mph
  • 7-8 min –    7.0 mph
  • 8-10 min –  6.3 mph
  • 10-11 min – 8.0 mph
  • 11-13 min – 6.3 mph
  • 13-14 min – 7.0 mph
  • 14-16 min – 6.3 mph
  • 16-17 min – 8.0 mph
  • 17-19 min – 6.3 mph
  • 19-20 min – 7.0 mph
  • 20-22 min – 6.3 mph
  • 22-23 min – 8.0 mph
  • 23-25 min – 6.3 mph
  • 25-26 min – 7.0 mph
  • 26-28 min – 6.3 mph
  • 28-29 min – 8.0 mph
  • 29-31 min – 6.3 mph
  • 31-32 min – 7.0 mph
  • 32-34 min – 6.3 mph
  • 34-35 min – 8.0 mph
  • 35-37 min – 6.3 mph
  • 37-38 min – 7.0 mph
  • 38-40 min – 6.3 mph
  • 40-45 min – 4.0 mph (cool down)

Total Distance: 4.58 m

This plan gave us a great workout!  We ran side by side, chatting and sweating the whole time.  The quick changes in speed kept us interested and the time flew by!  Give it a try – you can easily adjust the speeds to your fitness level.

After some stretching, it was time to refuel. I went with one of my favs – the banana sandwich.

Where's the bread?!

I eat a banana almost daily.  Today I just sliced one in half and smeared some homemade cashew butter between the slices to make a little sandwich.  Yum, yum! Bananas with nut butter is easily one of my favorite food combos.

Time to put myself together!  Hairdresser today!  When I was a little girl, I wanted to be a hairdresser.  I still get so excited every time I go to the salon.

What did you want to be when you were little? I wanted to be a hairdresser when I was really young, but I decided on teaching in second grade and stuck to the plan!

Do you have a favorite food combo? Bananas and nut butter is great, but I really love chocolate and peanut butter!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

