Skip to content

Spin ‘O Rama

February 18, 2010

Lately I’ve been all about running.  I usually run 4x/wk and closely follow my training plan.

I fell hard for running, but that wasn’t always the case.  Spinning was my first true love.  I took my first spin class on my second day as a member of the gym.  Yikes! I thought I was literally going to die!  I pushed through the class and kept signing up week after week.  I love the energy, the music, and the motivation I get from every spin class.  I met my best workout buddies in spin class 🙂

I’ve been neglecting my relationship with the spin bike for quite some time now.  I know cross-training is important to running, but I haven’t done enough of it.  I changed that this morning!  I fueled up with my go-to oatmeal combo before heading off the class.

My breakfast.

Beck’s Favorite Stovetop Oats:

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1 c. water
  • 1 ripe banana
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1 T. groung flaxseed
  • 1 T. crunchy almond butter
  • sprinkle of dried cranberries
  • some dark chocolate chips for good measure – a must!

I always choose toast with peanut butter before a run, but I love a heaping bowl of oatmeal before spinning.  I don’t like working out on an empty stomach, so I always wake up early enough to have time to eat and digest before class.

Me and spin, we were like peas and carrots this mornin!  My tush felt right at home on the bike and I loved every minute of class.  I covered ~18 miles on the bike in 45 minutes. Yes, our bikes have monitors – so fancy! When the cool down music came on, I couldn’t believe class was over.  It flew by!  Just the way I remembered it!  Guess I’ll have to find my way to the spin room more often.

I hurried home after class and made myself a snack plate to munch on.  You’ve all seen it before:

Carrots, multigrain pita chips, and hummus.

What can I say?  It’s a winner every time!

I’m off the shower and pretty myself for the day.  Big plans, folks!

Hope you’re all having a great one!  Make sure to click over to my new page for workout and playlist ideas.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 7:02 pm

    no surprise that you were able to get right back on the bike and rock it out!

    love the new page – looks great!

Leave a Reply

