Skip to content

Veggies For All

February 18, 2010

Score for Team Becky! I got the family to eat their veggies tonight.  I eat mostly whole grains, fruits, veggies, and dairy.  They eat meat and potatoes.  Things changed tonight.  While flipping through Good Housekeeping at my gram’s the other day, I stumbled upon this recipe for Ratatouille Rigatoni.  I had all of the ingredients on hand and decided to give it a whirl.

Prepped and ready to go!

Roasting the veggies.

While the veggies roasted, I boiled water and cooked the pasta.  The original recipe called for rigatoni, but I subbed that for whole-wheat penne and it worked out just fine.  I added the basil at the end and sprinkled freshly grated parmasean upon serving.

My plate.

Kitchen success!  The meal was hearty and delicious.  Nobody missed the meat, especially me! I’m so proud of my family for giving it a try.  This one might just become a comforting staple for chilly winter nights.  It was quick, easy, and filling.

***

After dinner, I headed out for more errands with mom.  We had plans to run out to Target for some essentials.  We were in the car on the way there, when I noticed this:

Slippers!!

AHHH!!! I never changed my shoes before leaving.  Yesterday, I laughed out loud when I read this post about a blogger who went to work wearing two different shoes.  Apparently today it was my turn to go out like a crazy lady!  Oh well – missing shoes never stopped me from trippin’ to Target!  We picked up some little things and headed home.

These lazy vacations days were definitely much needed.  There continues to be lots of this:

Mommy and Lucy

I hope you are all snug as a bug in a rug!  It’s cold out there!

Have a great night, ladies and gents!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 1:26 am

    Dinner was delicious and an excellent choice for Ash Wednesday. Thank you, again, for cooking!! Love you. You are doing an excellent job with your blog. Keep up the good work.

  2. February 18, 2010 1:52 pm

    Glad I’m not the only one!! 😉

Leave a Reply

