Skip to content

Joining the Challenge

February 19, 2010

I’m super excited tonight!  My cousin, Melissa, of Crunches for Cupcakes, announced her vegetarian challenge today.  She and her boyfriend are challenging themselves to follow a vegetarian lifestyle for one week.  I have contemplated converting to a vegetarian diet, but it is a major change that I haven’t really wrapped my brain around yet.  Her challenge sounded perfect for me.  I’m in!

I have not eaten meat since Tuesday and I plan to continue this through Friday – 2/26 (the final day of her challenge).  I am anxious to test new vegetarian recipes.  I’m also curious about the affects that this change could have on my body.  I  will create a page to track my daily thoughts on the challenge.  Should be interesting!

***

In the spirit of the challenge, I decided to whip up a new vegetarian dish: Pasta Mama!

I am a die hard Food Network fan.  I first saw this meal on one of my favorite shows, The Best Thing I Ever Ate. It’s a speciality at Hugo’s Restaurant in CA and it definitely looked tasty.

I started by spreading out the ingredients…

…and cooking the pasta.

I decided that my meal needed a little more color, so I drizzled some grape tomatoes with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic and roasted them at 425* for about 20 minutes.

Single serving of roasted toms!

All together it made a simple, yet satisfying dish.  The recipe made enough for one large portion.  If you are cooking for a few people, I would definitely increase the amounts to suit the appetites of the group!

At the last minute, I decided to pair my dinner with a quick mixed-green salad.  I guess I’m feeling the veggie love tonight!

Buon Appetito!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 2:24 am

    I’ve considered converting to a vegetarian diet as well, but I’m just not sure if I could give up some of my favorite foods. I’m really looking forward to seeing some new meals on your blog this week. Good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Crunches for Cupcakes » Rose Colored Glasses

Leave a Reply

