Skip to content

Size: Healthy

February 19, 2010

I’m an avid blog reader.  On Wednesday, I read this post from Angela of Oh She Glows.  In her post, Angela discusses the struggles that women often have when it comes to the size of their clothes.  Angela decided to launch the “Size Healthy Contest” to encourage women to stop basing their success on the size of their pants, but instead on the way their body feels.

I immediately fell in love with Angela’s inspirational concept, but I had no plans to enter the contest.  I changed my mind today. I spent the afternoon meandering through the mall with my mom.  We browsed in many different stores, tried on fun things, and had an overall good time.  As we chatted and shopped, I realized that many of the women around us were having a different experience.  Women were disgruntled in the fitting room and making negative comments about themselves to their friends – all because of the numbers and letters on tags!

Who decides what size we are?  Kenneth Cole has some ideas…and so does Calvin Klein.  Ann Taylor may think you’re a 2, while the folks at Banana Republic see you as more of a 4/6.  Women’s sizes are non-standard…so are women!

The most important thing is that we are all working to be the same size – Size: Healthy!

As soon as I got home from the mall, I took to my closet and made some adjustments.

True Religion Jeans - Size: Healthy

Trendy Black Blazer - Size: Healthy

Gap Perfect Bootcut - Size: Healthy

Thanks, Angela, for helping me find my true size!

I encourage everyone to do the same.   Nevermind the elusive 0 or 2…we can all wear the same size – Size: Healthy.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2010 2:28 am

    I love this post! I haven’t read Angela’s post yet, but I’ll head over there now. I actually found myself checking the size of a pair of pants that I was wearing yesterday. I told myself I just “wanted to see” what size they were, but deep down I know that I was checking because they felt a little snug. Ridiculous! I’m going to mark my own labels the same way you did. Thanks!

  2. March 23, 2010 9:39 am

    so cute! great idea to rename your clothing to being a size healthy 🙂 and its so true…who are these designers to tell us what size we are??

Trackbacks

  1. Oh She Glows » Blog Archive » The Good Old Hockey Game

Leave a Reply

