Skip to content

Solo Six

February 20, 2010

6.56, to be exact! I am on top of the world right now!  Simple things make me giddy.

I woke up a bundle of nerves.  My running buddies are out of town and I had to complete my scheduled 6 miles…alone! I love running with my friends and I didn’t have much confidence in myself today.  I wanted to do the run, but I felt anxious about going solo.  I laid out my gear last night, so I would be able to get up and go before I had time to talk myself out of it.

I fueled up, then bundled up.

Two slices of Yoga Bread w/almond butter...and water.

I love layers! And yes, I do wear lots of warm things.

As I headed out the door, I did something I’ve never done before – put my iPod away!!  *GASP*  Yes, that’s right, folks…I went on my first long run without my iPod.  I guess I was feeling very zen and wanted to be one with the road.  Whatever made me do it, I don’t know, but I will definitely be doing more runs sans ipod. I loved it!

At exactly 7:21, I hit the road.  Here are my splits (and color commentaryHey, Bob Costas, wanna chat?):

Total Time: 1:00

  • Mile 1 – 9:07  – Weird to be alone.
  • Mile 2 – 9:02 – Uphill for almost the whole mile…good thing I don’t mind hills.
  • Mile 3 – 8:31 – Sailing downhill and working hard to maintain control of my breath.
  • Mile 4 – 8:53 – Settled in and taking in the morning.
  • Mile 5 – 9:21 – Feeling good..grabbed one clif block and a squirt of water from the fuel belt.
  • Mile 6 – 9:51 – Got a little tightness in my right side, so I held back a little to prevent a major cramp.
  • 0.56 ending – 5:13 – Strong run for the finish!

Hi, Garmin! I love you.

Running alone was very liberating.  I felt peaceful and accomplished.  I’m so glad that I didn’t back out of this run or reschedule for another day.  Today, I broke through a mental barrier and realized that I am a runner. I can’t wait to get back with my running buddies and share the energy from this run!

I quickly refueled when I got home.

Green Monstah...and me, a hot mess!

My smoothie:

  • handful of spinach
  • 1 c. unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 c. plain Oikos Greek yogurt
  • 1 ripe banana, sliced
  • 1/2 c. frozen blueberries

Mixed to perfection in the bullet and chugged sipped while writing this post.

I am going to do some more stretching and enjoy my runner’s high for a bit…for tomorrow, I rest!

The sun is shining!  Enjoy your day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Patty permalink
    February 20, 2010 4:40 pm

    Glad that you enjoyed your run alone…..without friends and without the ipod. That’s Brian’s favorite way to run. Congratulations!

  2. February 20, 2010 6:57 pm

    Congrats on the 6 (.56) miles! We had great running weather this morning. I’ve gotta try a green monster sooner or later.

Leave a Reply

