Skip to content

Crazy Bowl

February 21, 2010

I’ll start at the top.  Today was semi-productive.  Let’s just say, some things were crossed off the To Do list, but not everything! It’ll all get done in due time – promise! I think I am prepared to go back to work tomorrow…I don’t know if I’m really “ready,” but I’m prepared. It’s hard not to melt when I see my kiddos after a week off.  As my mom always said, “You’re fine once you get there!”

As I checked things off the list, I started to feel a little hungry.  It was lunchtime, but I didn’t want a big lunch.  I think the late breakfast through my appetite off a little bit.  I decided to go with a Green Monster and toast with PB.

Light lunch.

I deviated from my typical smoothie mix today.  I was a little nervous about the outcome, but pleasantly surprised.  I magically bulleted:

  • a big handful of spinach
  • 1 c. unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze
  • 1 scoop Amazing Grass Green Superfood
  • 1/2 c. plain Oikos Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 c. fresh blueberries
  • 1/2 c. frozen mango
  • a couple of ice cubes

I didn’t even miss the banana!  I think the mango added just the right amount of thickness.  Yum!

I puttered around and ran some errands this afternoon.  Then I got hungry for dinner super early!

Enter CRAZY BOWL!

I usually stick to pretty square meals, but I’m branching out a bit during the vegetarian challenge.  I was so hungry that I threw a Mexican mix into a bowl and called it dinner.  I don’t know if it was my hunger talking or what, but it started a party in my mouth!

The Bowl.

I started with a black bean and corn mixture that contained:

  • 1/3 c. black beans
  • 1/3 c. cooked frozen corn
  • 1/4 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • small tomato, chopped
  • big squirt of lime juice
  • 1 t. apricot preserve
  • salt, pepper, and chili powder to taste.

I heated the bean/corn mix in the microwave for a minute, just to give the flavor a chance to work together a bit.  While it nuked, I put ~1 c. of brown rice into a bowl.  I topped the rice with the mixture, splashed it with Frank’s Red Hot and sprinkled it with shredded Mexican cheese.

Something about these flavors together totally rocked! Even better – I have all the ingredients left to throw into a container for lunch tomorrow.  Easy-peasy!

By 5:30, dinner was done and my belly felt happy.

I have a feeling I will be breaking this out tonight…

Total relaxation.

…with some epsom salt to soothe my tired muscles.

Now, there’s a recipe for a perfect Sunday night!  Relax, folks – its back to the grind tomorrow!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 12:33 pm

    Have a good first day back! Haha, my mom always used to say the same thing. I guess it is true though!

Leave a Reply

