Skip to content

Take Out Trouble

February 21, 2010

The vegetarian challenge hit it’s first snag tonight.  I was laying around like a bum on my gram’s couch, when my stomach started to rumble.  I didn’t have the urge to go out or even move from my comfy spot, so Gram suggested take-out.  Great plan! I love preparing my own meals most of the time, but a little break is occasionaly welcome.  We decided on Asia Grille – a local, very popular, Chinese restaurant.  It’s pretty much the only Chinese food I’ll eat…although I did eat the grub my dad brought home last week, remember?! Anywho, I went on the website to check the menu before ordering.  I typically order meat dishes at Asia, so I needed to choose a veggie option.

Man, oh, man! Options?  Who said I’d have options? There were a couple of tofu dishes, which didn’t appeal to me and there’s always the Chinese mixed vegetables, but I didn’t really want a container of veggies for dinner.  Ultimately, I decided on the vegetable spring rolls and meatless fried rice.  While I drove to pick up the food, my amazing gram fixed me up a nice, crunchy, green salad to have with my meal.  It definitely pleased me to add a little color to my dinner.

My dinner.

I ended up eating about 1.5 spring rolls and some fried rice mixed with white rice.  It definitely wasn’t the most balanced meal, but it tasted pretty good and worked for a lazy night.

The yummiest part of the meal came a little later.  I don’t post about all of my eats, but I want you to know that I am a sucker for dessert!  I came home and put together a little bowl of sweetness to cap off my day.

Perfect ending.

I scooped out some Blueberries ‘n Sweet Cream Frozen Yogurt and topped it with fresh blueberries and sliced almonds. J’adore!

Tonight I realized one of the real challenges faced by vegetarians.  I plan to eat out a couple more times during the week and hope that I have a better experience finding healthy, vegetarian options in my area. I’m OK with eating a less than stellar meal once in awhile, but I hate being deprived of the options that omnivores have!

Have you ever followed a vegetarian diet?

What was your biggest obstacle?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 4:01 am

    Hi! I just stumbled across your blog and love it 🙂

    I have been on detox that the doctor prescribed and had to eliminate meat for one week. It was tough but doable. I got really creative with beans. I also became besties with fruits and veggies.

  2. February 21, 2010 2:20 pm

    Good for you fo not caving…you are a rockstar! Willpower baby!! You can do it! 🙂

  3. February 21, 2010 7:10 pm

    I have never tried an all-veggie diet, but I think my biggest obstacle would be going home to my mom’s lasagna. It’s my favorite meal, and I just don’t know if I could give it up!

Leave a Reply

