Skip to content

The Routine

February 22, 2010

Vacation is over.  I’m heading back to work.  I feel rested and ready.  It’s always hard to end a vacation, but I must admit, I like routines. I  feel most comfortable when things are predictable.  I enjoy my day-to-day life.

I’m definitely a morning person.  The alarm rings at 5:45 and I plan my outfit before getting out of bed at 6.  I prefer waking up early and having extra time to watch the news, make a satisfying breakfast, and sip my tea before work.  Funny thing is, I do not like to exercise in the morning!

I typically enjoy a hot breakfast and today was no different.  I decided to make use of the giant tub of fresh blueberries that I bought at TJ’s and make some blueberry pancakes.  Not your average blueberry pancakes – Super Easy Blueberry Oatmeal Pancakes!

Cooking the 'cakes.

Ingredients (makes one serving):

  • 1/3 c. quick-cooking oats
  • 1/3 c. egg whites
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • dash of cinnamon
  • large handful of blueberries

Directions:

  • Mix all ingredients in a bowl.
  • Preheat a skillet and coat with non-stick spray.
  • Pour batter into two small pancakes.  The batter may be a little runny at first, but the egg whites will set quickly. Use a spoon to help shape your pancakes.
  • Flip when golden brown on one side.
  • Cook both sides evenly.
  • Top with your favorite things and enjoy!

I topped my pancakes with a dollop of peanut butter, 1/2 a mashed banana, and a drizzle of maple syrup – that’s the way to kick off a Monday!

This recipe is based on Kath’s.  It can be adjusted to your taste and hunger level.  Just up the ingredients for a bigger serving.  And feel free to mix it up.   Use canned pumpkin for pumpkin pancakes or recreate my special Sunday breakfast by adding sliced banana and walnuts.  Get creative!

I might've licked the plate clean...

It may not be the most photogenic breakfast, but it’ll definitely give me the energy I need to get back into the classroom.  The lunch box is packed with leftovers and I’m off!

Happy Monday!  Last day of nice weather for a bit – can’t wait for recess!  Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol permalink
    February 22, 2010 5:41 pm

    Becky, these pancakes look delish. I will definately try them this week,Thanks

  2. February 22, 2010 6:47 pm

    I’m a huge routine person. I get anxiety when my routine is off hahaha! I love working out in the morning though.
    Your hotcakes look yummy! Have a great week!

    • February 22, 2010 9:55 pm

      It was nice to get back into the groove…glad I’m not the only one!

Leave a Reply

