Skip to content

Best Workout Ever

February 23, 2010

Last night, I had a plan.  After dinner I decided to watch the Olympics and read In Defense of Food. It all went up in smoke and I ended up getting the best workout ever! I worked my abs, burned calories, and exercised my mind.  I did it all while sitting in a rocking chair with Lucy on my lap!  Told you it was the BEST workout!

I know you’re dying to get the details…so here they are!  My mom bought this lovely kit to transfer VHS tapes to DVDs.  Last night, she whipped out some old home videos and got to work.  I could not peel myself away from the TV.  I sat in front of it for at least two hours belly laughing!  Of course, “Becky” made very few appearances in the videos, as I went by “Snow White” or “Cinderella.”  I was wearing my Lee Press-On Nails and lookin’ fine!  This was the kind of funny where you go silent because you’re laughing so hard.  It was so much fun to walk down memory lane and revisit such carefree, simple times.  I hope everyone has a good laugh today because it really was the best workout ever!

***

On to breakfast!  I had a blogger bandwagon breakfast this morning and it rocked!  I used an empty Teddie’s jar for my OIAJ (oats in a jar).

It's the perfect size.

On the stove, I cooked up:

  • 1/2 c. old fashioned oats
  • 1 c. water
  • 1 ripe banana sliced
  • dash of cinnamon

Once cooked, I poured the warm, oat-y goodness into my empty jar and topped it with raspberry preserves, ground flax, dark chocolate chips, and an extra smear of Teddie’s – from the new jar.

Ready to eat.

Lately I’ve read some mixed reviews about OIAJ.  I think the flavor is divine.  All of the little bits of nut butter melt off the side of the jar and mix into the oats, but it can be tricky to get the toppings mixed into every bite because the jar is so much deeper than the average bowl.  Solution: Use an extra long spoon!  I always feel comfortably full and satiated after this breakfast.

I hated it.

Obviously. LOL.

Well, it’s time to get to work!  Have a great one…looks like Jack Frost is paying us another visit today!  Be safe!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 3:35 pm

    I’m not a fan of OIAJ, but I’m glad you like it. It’s pb overload for me and I feel kind of gross eating it that way. I will admit to making it to bring on airplane once though haha! I can’t go a morning without my oats and it was the most convenient way to do it.

    Your videos sound fun. Lee Press Ons are snazzy!

  2. February 23, 2010 4:40 pm

    Great workout! Love the press ons. My sister and I were big into stick on earrings, too.

    Yum, I love OIAJ! I have yet to try it with almond butter, but I’ve got a near-empty jar in the waiting 🙂

Leave a Reply

