Skip to content

Slushy Morning

February 24, 2010

Lucy started barking and lights were flashing.  I pried my eyes open, rolled over and checked the clock – 3:43 am!

“Lucy!  Go to bed!”  (Yes, she sleeps in my bed…she’s my baby!)  I heard the familiar sound that bothered her – the plow! Oh yes, the rain/sleet/snow continues in RI and its here to stay until Monday.  I’m not letting the weather get me down today, though!  I jumped out of bed earlier than usual.  I have lots to do today and I’m ready to get it started!

Lucy had other plans…

Cuddly puppy.

…and she’s still there!  I don’t have to heart to drag her outside just yet.

With a busy day ahead, I decided to keep breakfast simple with a big ol’ bowl of oats.

Morning fuel.

A classic mix:

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1 c. water
  • 1 small banana
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 1 T. ground flaxseed
  • 1 T. crunchy almond butter
  • dried cranberries
  • shredded coconut

This was such a delicious bowl!  The banana was extra ripe, so it got really melty in the pot and released all of it’s banana sweetness into the oats.  I never have to add sweetener to my oats because the banana adds just the right amount.  I never go a day without a ‘naner.

Just pulled on my Uggs…I’m ready to take on this day – it will be a good one!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 10:21 pm

    That’s too funny, I’ve heard other puggle owners say that too (about them not getting out of bed) – but BOTH of mine – the second I STIR in the morning – jump RIGHT OUT OF BED AND START RUNNING AROUND! It drives me nuts (especially after a night with a few too many drinks!) Lucy is an absolute doll though!

Leave a Reply

