Skip to content

Double Duty Dinner

February 24, 2010

When I decided to challenge myself with a vegetarian week, I knew that I would be busy in the kitchen.  I live at home and cook dinner for my family most nights.  They are omnivores.  Of course, I did not expect them to switch to a meat-free diet , so I planned to cook a little extra this week.

For the family, I made this:

Bruschetta Chicken Bake

I adapted this recipe to feed my parents and younger brother.  I’ve made it before and can assure you that it’s very tasty – and super easy! My only substitution was the use of whole wheat stuffing (Stove Top), which you can find at most grocery stores.

While their dinner baked, I got to work on my vegetarian entree.  I decided to go with a creative take on eggplant parmasean.

Italian Delight!

On my plate I had a bed of sauteed spinach and spaghetti squash, topped with baked eggplant, tomato sauce and mozzarella cheese.  This meal was so simple, but tasted so gourmet!

Let me break it down for you:

The Squash: About an hour before you begin cooking the meal, poke a few holes in a whole spaghetti squash and place it in a shallow baking dish.  Bake at 350* for ~ 1 hr. or until fork tender.  When ready, remove the squash from the oven and let cool for 10 minutes.  After it cools, use a large knife to slice the squash in 1/2.  Scoop out to seeds and discard.  Remove the squash by dragging a fork along the veggie until long string-like pieces come out.  Place all of the good stuff into a resealable container for future use.

Scooping out the squash.

All the delicious squash-ness.

The Eggplant: Cut an eggplant into 1/2 think rounds.  Dip each cutlet into a bath of egg whites followed by your favorite breadcrumb mix (I use crushed Fiber One w/basil, oregano, garlic powder).  Place the slices on a non-stick cookie tray and lightly spray with Pam.  Bake at 400* for 20 minutes or until crispy and golden brown.

The eggplant after baking.

The Saute: In a saute pan, heat olive oil and 1 tbsp. of minced garlic.  After a couple minutes, add the desired amount of spinach and saute until it wilts down.  Add cooked spaghetti squash until heated through.

The squash and spinach saute.

Put it all together, top with your favorite tomato sauce, mozzarella, and enjoy!  I strongly recommend giving this one a try!

***

Backing up a bit…

Today was a wee bit stressful.  Sometimes it’s tough to jump right back into real life after such a relaxing vacation week!  The weather roller coaster definitely takes its toll on my mood, too.  I’m just dreaming of warmth, sun, flip flops, and everything that spring brings!  I was pretty slow moving today – sorry for the gloom – so I decided to change my attitude and get a quick run in when I got home from work.  Despite the lack of sunshine, the “frozen mix” held off just long enough for me to squeeze in a short outdoor jaunt.  I decided to try a hilly loop around my neighborhood.

Yesterday I posted about the struggle to pace myself – and I even mentioned negative splits. Well, imagine my delight when I synced up the Garmin after this run:

Total Distance: 2.43 m

Total Time: 21:33

  • Mile 1 – 9:19/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:28/mi
  • The Final 0.43 – 3:45 – 8:39/mi

Now that’s better!  I know that the shorter distance helped me to pace a little better, but I’m working on looking at the bright side today 🙂

***

UPDATE: At the last minute, I decided to join my aunt at the gym for “gentle yoga.”  It was just what I needed.  It loosened up my tight hip flexors, eased some tension, got me ready for the rest of the week!

A great workout, gourmet dinner, and relaxing yoga…what more could I ask for?!

Have a wonderful night!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 1:44 am

    Awesome job on the negative splits!

    I know exactly what you mean about the gloom… we are having a rain/sleet mix here as well, and for most of the day today I just wanted to crawl in bed and watch a movie or read. I’m trying to be productive, though!

  2. February 24, 2010 1:31 pm

    Great job on those splits and on your yummy dinner.
    I need to do yoga more often!

Leave a Reply

