Skip to content

The Foam Roller

February 25, 2010

It’s a good night in Becky-land!  My body feels better than it has in awhile!  Tonight was all about the foam roller.

Before I get to that, let’s get dinner out of the way.  I whipped it up in nothin’ flat!  It wasn’t my most creative night in the kitchen, but I got fed. I ate…

A simple dinner.

sun-dried tomato and parmesan rotini with roasted Brussels sprouts.

The Pasta: I just boiled a serving of whole wheat rotini and mixed it with ~2 T. chopped sun-dried tomatoes.  I drizzled some of the oil from the tomatoes onto the pasta to prevent sticking and topped my bowl with a generous sprinkling of freshly grated parmesan cheese.  Yum!

The Brussels Sprouts: Wash fresh Brussels sprouts and cut in half through the stem.  Lightly coat in olive oil, salt, and pepper and roast at 425* for about 20 minutes or until the sprouts get crispy on the outside.  Flip halfway through roasting.

Nothing fancy, but very tasty!

Now…let’s get back to the good stuff!  My tummy was full and I zipped off to Target in search of the foam roller. I’ve heard plenty of great things about this little piece of equipment, but never gave much thought to using it until recently.  As my mileage increases, I’ve started to experience more tightness in my body.  My hip flexors are the biggest problem.  They don’t bother me during runs, but the tightness is really irritating after periods of sitting.  My flexors also bother me during Pilates – which I love!

Last night I went to yoga looking for a good stretch.  While at the gym, I talked to the instructor about my issue and she gave me plenty of stretches to do…

  • runner’s lunges
  • half-crescents
  • pigeons
  • cobbler
  • happy baby

…but she also added that I should probably start using a foam roller!  After today’s Pilates class, I knew what I had to do.  Tonight, at Target, I purchased this beauty.

The Foam Roller.

I rushed home and got right to work.  I rolled on each flexor until they loosened up, then I worked out some kinks in my lower back and glutes.  A-MAY-ZING! Thank you, thank you, thank you to anyone who recommended this to me!  It will definitely become a part of my daily routine.

Have you ever used a foam roller?

Any tips or tricks to share? I’m a newbie!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 12:56 am

    A foam roller might be the best invention EVER!!! I love to just roll all my body parts on it! I get creative with my positions so it is probably best I do it at home and not at the gym! haha! 🙂 Glad you like your new toy!

Leave a Reply

