Skip to content

Date Night

February 26, 2010

It was such a pleasant evening.  Despite all the rain (flooding), I feel like I’ve had positive thoughts flowing all day.  I definitely woke up on the right side of the bed!

Tonight was all about good food and good conversation.  Adam and I like to enjoy dinner at a special restaurant at least every few weeks.  Tonight we chose Vercelli’s.  We tried to have dinner there a couple of weeks ago, but missed out because we hadn’t made reservations.  It was much quieter tonight and we were able sit at cute little table and enjoy a delicious meal.

Vercelli’s has received many awards for everything from the freshness of their ingredients to the overall dining experience they provide.  It is a family-owned restaurant and they treat every diner as such.  I’ve eaten there on many occasions and always love it!

Adam and I started our dinner with mixed green salads, but we were enjoying our conversation and I didn’t stop to take a picture – oh well! Gotta keep my priorities in check 🙂

As our meal arrived, I couldn’t help but bust out the camera to share with you.  We started with fresh Italian bread and dipping oil.  This may be the absolute best part of any Italian meal.  The bread was so fresh and soft on the inside, but so crusty on the outside…YUM!

I never turn down fresh Italian bread!

Perfectly infused flavors.

For the entree, I order eggplant rollatini – “thinly sliced eggplant with a spread of pesto rolled with fresh mozzarella, topped with marinara.”  I am seriously digging eggplant lately and this dish did not disappoint.  The eggplant was thin and had just the right amount of crisp.  Inside was the perfect blend of melted cheese and pesto.  Besides, you could probably put their sauce on feet and it would be delicious – just sayin’!

Italian done right.

Adam always feels satisfied after the entree…I need dessert.  I love to order my favorite desserts at restaurants like this because I know it will be totally worth every last bite.  So…that’s what I did.

Carrot Cake.

The cake was super moist and had the best layer of cream cheese frosting on top.  I don’t love frosting most of the time – except when it’s the luscious cream cheese frosting on a slice of carrot cake.  Our waiter placed the dessert in the middle of our table with two spoons…as if I was sharing! I mean, if he really wanted some, I suppose I would’ve spared a bite.  Luckily, I didn’t have to!  We lingered over coffee and continued to chat as I ate my decadent dessert.

This dinner was the perfect escape from a busy week.  I enjoyed every minute and feel completely relaxed as I blog.  I wish you all the same wonderful evening!  After all, tomorrow is FRIDAY!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela Paige permalink
    February 26, 2010 2:14 am

    That carrot cake looks delicious and it would have been great if you would have taken some leftovers home. Oh well, guess I just have to plan a date night for Dad and I……

  2. February 26, 2010 5:43 am

    I love days like that when everything just goes right. Enjoying a long, delicious meals is one of the most relaxing, wonderful things you can do for yourself. Sounds like the perfect restaurant for that!
    Happy Friday!

  3. February 26, 2010 1:49 pm

    The meal looks heavenly!

  4. February 26, 2010 7:08 pm

    Your date night dinner looks delicious! I’m glad that you had a nice relaxing evening with the boyfriend. We like to really enjoy Thursday nights, too. It’s such a great way to kick off the weekend!

Leave a Reply

