Skip to content

Soulful and Reflective

February 26, 2010

“Grace comes when you understand and accept that the universe always creates circumstances that lead every person to his or her own true path, and that everything happens for a reason as part of a divine plan…you trust in yourself and the universe.  You can celebrate other people’s blessings, knowing that their gifts are right and appropriate for them and that the universe has your gift right around the corner.”

~ Cherie Carter-Scott, PhD

A few weeks ago, I attended a yoga class at my gym.  As I enjoyed savasana, our instructor read this quote to the class.  The reading spoke to me.  I received my lay-off notice that afternoon (for next year) and these words gave me great perspective on the situation.  I felt so moved that I asked for a copy of the reading.  I took it out to reread this morning.

It was a long, hectic week back at work.  The weather was dreary and at times, I felt stressed.  My family and friends continue to grieve the recent loss of a loved one and my colleagues and I continue to fight scary changes in education.  As the people around me became I anxious, I have found a sense of calm.  I continue to challenge my mind to embrace the power of positive thinking.

***

I woke up early,  feeling clear-headed.  It is my day of rest from training, but I felt like my body needed to move.  I decided to go with my mood and browsed through the yoga selections on ExerciseTV.  I unrolled my mat and selected a 28 minute calming yoga sequence.

I moved slowly and felt my body loosening with each inhale and exhale.

Lucy apprecipates yoga, too!

A happy yogi.

It was glorious!  I wish I had the time to start every day in such a calming way.  I am considering waking up earlier to practice yoga a couple days a week.  With all of the running I’m doing, I feel like I need to increase my yoga practice to keep my muscles loose and flexible.

***

What better way to round out the morning than a delicious breakfast?  I stuck to my usual oatmeal, but I did change the mix.

Snowy day oats.

My Blueberry-Ricotta Bowl:

  • 1/3 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 2/3 c. water
  • 1 c. blueberries
  • 1 T. fresh ricotta
  • 1 T. almond butter

This was a good bowl…definitely not as good as traditional banana oats, but I like to mix it up.  I’d make it again.

Enough of the deep thoughts, Beck!  Time to get ready for work!

Happy Friday, lovelies!

What is your favorite way to unwind after a long week? Today was all about yoga for me!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Patty permalink
    February 27, 2010 1:50 am

    Thank you for reminding me about this wonderful quote. I have left my copy on the computer desk for a while….but, I feel that it needs to remain in my purse. I truly believe this, but I am struggling to feel it right now.

  2. March 1, 2010 5:17 pm

    That is the greatest quote ever. I love it.

Leave a Reply

