Skip to content

Farm Fresh

February 27, 2010

If my morning was all about fitness, my afternoon was all about food. My mom and I went to the Wintertime Farmer’s Market to explore.  Farm Fresh Rhode Island organizes the weekly market, which supports local farmers and atisians.  It was jam-packed with shoppers.  The farmers offered valuable information about their produce, meat, and dairy and plenty of samples of tasty specialty jams, salsas, sauces, etc.

The experience through pictures:

Hopkins Hill Farm - Fresh Produce

Freshly Baked Breads and Pastries

Potted and Fresh Cut Herbs

Natural Beauty Products and Essential Oils

Momma loves the cupcakes!

Making crepes...looks tricky...

The Yams - A Local Folk Band - giving the kiddies some dancing tunes!

My photos capture only a bit of the beautiful and wonderful wares at the market. It had so much to offer!  Not only could you purchase fresh ingredients and support local agriculture, but you could enjoy time with family and friends, sample delicious treats and browse through art galleries and shops.

My purchases:

Look at those colors!

  • butternut squash – Hopkins Farm, North Scituate, RI
  • 1 lb. parsnips – Hopkins Farm, North Scituate, RI
  • 5 Honeybell tangelos
  • 2 grapefruit
  • 2 bags of macintosh apples – Cooks Valley Farm, Wrentham, MA
  • gluten-free BBQ sauce – The Stirring Spoon, Johnston, RI
  • chipotle salsa – Poblano Farm, South Kingstown, RI

I’m so excited about my purchases and cannot wait to go back!  I look forward to planning meals around the local, seasonal ingredients that I find at the farmer’s market each week.  Farm Fresh RI also provided visitors with a list of restaurants and businesses that support our local agriculture.  I continue to research the work of Farm Fresh RI and hope to become actively involved with their initiatives.  The organization has really peaked my interest in local agriculture and I look forward to learning more.

How do you support local agriculture?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 8:55 pm

    I love Parsnips. I love going to the farmers market in the summer, but the one here in cleveland OH in the winter doesn’t have much unfortunately.

  2. Carol permalink
    February 27, 2010 9:37 pm

    Becky,where is this farmers market? I would love to check it out.

  3. February 27, 2010 9:54 pm

    The farmer’s market is every Saturday 11-2 in Pawtucket. If you click on the name of it in the post, it’ll bring you to the website. I plan to go back on a regular basis….it was really nice! If you want to go together sometime, we could…such yummy stuff!

  4. February 28, 2010 10:32 am

    I love that farmers market! It would be cool to run into another blogger there! I’ll keep my eyes peeled for you. Not in a stalker way…you know what I mean 🙂

    • February 28, 2010 12:16 pm

      It certainly would be cool! I’m ok with a little stalking if it’s related to blogging. LOL

  5. February 28, 2010 6:07 pm

    I try to go to the farmers market here whenever possible, but I really only go regularly in the summer. I love checking out the local products, especially when there are samples! We get excited too because there are sometimes vendors from Ithaca, where we went to school 🙂

Leave a Reply

