Skip to content

Snowy Seven

February 27, 2010

EPIC

It’s the only word that can describe this morning’s run.  I planned my long run for this morning and had my heart set on completing it despite the weather.  I went to bed with a positive outlook and got a great night’s sleep.  I hopped out of bed and looked out the window at 7.

Running weather?

Uh-oh!  The roads looked pretty slushy.  I wasn’t sure if my group would agree to running under those conditions.  We planned to meet at 8:30.  I decided not to make any decision until it was really time.  I went about my morning and ate my usual pre-run breakfast.

Two slices of toast with peanut butter.

By 8:15 I was dressed in full outdoor running gear and headed to the gym.  The flakes were still falling, but the roads were just wet – no ice. When I arrived at the gym, Lolly was already there…wearing outdoor gear! Yes, I wasn’t alone! My aunt and uncle arrived soon after and layered up.  We all agreed – outdoor run! I can’t even express how amazing it is to have such an amazing group of people to train with.  Everyone is willing to challenge themselves and work together towards our goal.

Off we went!  It was amazing.  The route we took began with hills – 2 miles of uphills with very little breaks.  I knew it would be a challenging run, but everyone pushed through.  We cheered each other on and completed 7.11 miles!  Personal distance record!

Total Distance: 7.11 m

  • Mile 1 – 9:44/mi
  • Mile 2 – 9:23/mi
  • Mile 3 – 8:33/mi
  • Mile 4 – 8:56/mi
  • Mile 5 – 8:58/mi
  • Mile 6 – 9:10/mi
  • Mile 7 – 9:11/mi
  • 0.11 m – 9:17/mi

Total Time: 1:05

We cheered. We high-fived.  We fist-pumped.  We did it!

Basking in the glory of the run.

Together.

…and we stretched.  I did plenty of half-crescents, runner’s lunges, pigeons, and forward bends.  I also broke out the foam roller for a post-run massage.  Then it was time to refuel.

Yogurt Mess.

I loaded my bowl with a plain Greek yogurt, 1/2 sliced banana, 1/2 c. fresh blueberries, and 2 T. of Udi’s tropical granola. It was delish!  Time for a hot shower!  I’m going to a really fun indoor farmer’s market today!  Can’t wait to tell you all about it!

Have an amazing Saturday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 3:57 pm

    Great post! Just goes to show you what positive attitude and a good training group can do for you. It is amazing how many times I would have bagged a long run if not for having a training partner that I didn’t want to let down. Congrats on the new distance record too!
    Happy running,
    Rundad

Leave a Reply

