Skip to content

Party People

February 28, 2010

Last night I partied!  My best friend, Meg, was in town because her family threw a surprise birthday party for her mom. Meg’s mom is the sweetest, kindest lady you could ever meet!  Everyone was together to celebrate and honor her.  The party was at Vintage – a great spot with delicious food and cool vibe.  It was a fun night to catch up with people I haven’t seen in awhile.  We chatted and had lots of laughs…and lots of cocktails.  Cocktails and laughs – like peanut butter and jelly!

Confession: I left my camera tucked away most of the time.  I’m no photographer.  Taking the photos is the most difficult part of blogging.  I get so wrapped up in the moments with people I love that I don’t always stop to snap a photo. Bad blogger! I’m working on it, promise!

Highlights:

  • Friends. I spent the night with my beautiful friends, made some new ones (Hi Erin!), and laughed a lot. I kind of lost my voice.  Talking, singing, and laughing for hours will do that to ya!

    Becky, Meg, and Sara - My Oldest, Dearest Friends

  • Food. The food at Vintage is always excellent, but I arrived in a conundrum.  I have not declared myself a vegetarian, but I secretly hoped there would be a veggie option.  Veggie lasagna! Not only was there a veggie option, but it was the most delicious dish in the buffet line.  Even the meat-eating boys were going back for more!  Big props to Vintage – I’ll be back!
  • Birthday cake. It’s one of the best parts about birthdays.  I could never go to a birthday and skip cake.  It was my favorite kind of cake, too.  Yellow cake with white frosting – and I scored a middle piece – plenty of cake, just the right amount of frosting.
  • Live music. As the party at Vintage wound down, we made our way to Cityside.  It’s another hidden gem in our little city.  An old mill has been transformed into a hip bar/dance club.  The feature live music on weekends.  Felix Brown played last night.  They rocked it with great covers of top 40 hits.  If they are playing near you, go check them out!
  • Water.  I chugged drank plenty of water to rehydrate before bed and woke up feeling great!  I guess I had just the right amount of fun without going overboard.  Love that!

***

When I woke up, I knew I wanted a stabilizing, healthy breakfast.  Not too exciting, but so good – two slices of yoga bread with peanut butter, a farmer’s market grapefruit…and more water!

Starting the day right.

I have a fun Sunday planned.  I’m heading to Boston to visit my cousin, Melissa, and cook a vegetarian lunch.  I’m sure the day will be filled with talk of blogging and racing, my favorite!  Can’t wait to share the details!

Hope you have a restful Sunday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 28, 2010 6:05 pm

    Looks like you had a fun night (and all the important components)! Have a great time in Boston today.

Leave a Reply

