Skip to content

A Family Affair

March 1, 2010

Today was all about relaxing, eating good food, and spending time with family.  My cousin, Melissa, her boyfriend, Jared and I completed the Vegetarian Challenge during the past week and decided to end our challenge with a fun vegetarian lunch!  We rounded up our parents and prepared a delicious meal at her place.  It was so nice to snack and chat our way through a lazy Sunday afternoon.

The Chefs.

The afternoon began with a tasty appetizer spread arranged by Melissa and Jared.  After an hour in the car, I was ready to dig in.  I munched on raw veggies, hummus, and pita chips…tortilla chips with salsa…and some tomatoes, mozzarella and bread dipped in olive oil.  Great oil choice, guys!  It was my fav!

The appetizer spread.

We enjoyed our munchies and decided to wait a little while before starting on the meal.  I created the menu for an afternoon BBQ and worked with Melissa to prepare it.

On The Menu

Cornbread Muffins

Traditional corn muffins with a whole wheat twist.

Butternut Squash Fries – Just cut, season, drizzle with oil and bake under high heat until crispy.

Fries for everyone!

BBQ Baked Tofu – Pressed, sliced, marinated and baked.  I used the special sauce I bought at the farmer’s market. It made the whole house smell delicious and gave the tofu a great flavor.

Marinating tofu - ready to bake.

BBQ Baked Chicken (gotta satisfy the omnivores in the crowd, too!)  – Chicken tenders marinated in the same finger-lickin’ good sauce and baked.

Soaking up the saucy goodness.

I think we made a dynamic duo in the kitchen!  Melissa and I worked together to create a fabulous meal. I adore her cute kitchen 🙂

Clearly having a good time!

Everything came together nicely and it was time to eat!

My plate - tofu, squash fries, cornbread, and mixed greens.

After dinner, my Aunt Kim took her turn in the kitchen and created a colorful and fresh dessert spread.  We savored our sweet ending of fresh berries, pound cake, and whipped topping.

Vibrant bowls of berries.

Dessert, Round One.

I filled a bowl with cake, berries, and topping.  After eating it all, you know I went back for more berries!  Look at those colors – who could resist?

It was pretty much the perfect way to spend a Sunday afternoon.  My cousin and I did not stop gabbing and have lots of fun food and fitness plans in the works.  More importantly, we planned another visit with shopping! She lives in a prime location, so I can’t wait to go back and explore more of Boston with her.  Thanks for the great day, Melissa!  Even Miles was sad to see it end 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 4:20 am

    Great afternoon! (and loved your recap of it.) I hope Lucy wasn’t too angry that you smelled like another dog. Haha.

    Your pictures look SO much better than mine. A sure sign that I need a new camera. Mine is only 8.1 megapixels. Boooooo.

  2. March 1, 2010 12:40 pm

    Looks like you guys had a great time! Those cornbread muffins look delicious! Also, I agree, shopping in Boston is very important 😉

  3. March 1, 2010 1:41 pm

    What a fun way to spend a Sunday! I’ve said it a million times, but seriously, you’re hair is awesome!

    • March 1, 2010 8:24 pm

      You are too kind! Thank you! We did have a great afternoon 🙂

Leave a Reply

