Skip to content

…And The Wind Blew

March 1, 2010

I worried about Lucy all day!  I felt like such a bad mommy, leaving my poor baby home alone and sick.  I came home to this:

A dog and her bone.

She’s back! Apparently the bug has passed because Lucy was wigglin’ and waggin’ when I walked in the door.  She was gnawing on a bone and bouncing around to greet everyone.  I was feelin’ the puppy love! I credit her speedy recovery to all of your well wishes!  Lucy and I say thank you!

With my worries behind me, I set out for a 4.5 m recovery run.  I’m entering week seven on my training, so my recovery runs are getting a little bit longer.  No biggie, right?!  WRONG! This run was a challenge in every sense.  It was windy, sand was blowing in my face and I got manhandled!  At the beginning of the run I felt really frustrated.  I felt like I wasn’t in control, but as the run progressed, it became fun.  I’m all for a challenge and I laughed to myself as I channeled my inner Dorothy – I wasn’t in Kansas anymore!

Despite the less than stellar conditions, I completed my run.

Total Distance: 4.89 m

  • Mile 1 – 9:05/mi
  • Mile 2 – 9:23/mi
  • Mile 3 – 9:47/mi
  • Mile 4 – 9:55/mi
  • 0.89 m – 9:45/mi

Total Time: 46:54 minutes

Time to shower up and get ready for dinner with the boy!  Later gators!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 12:26 am

    Ouch, I hate getting dirt/sand/road grit in my eyes. You still did awesome. Every run isn’t going to be perfect. Just keep your confidence up.

    (Read my latest post…I have a gut feeling about that question…) 😉

    • March 2, 2010 2:23 am

      *lifts jaw off keyboard* Love anonymous comments!

  2. Carol permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:10 am

    Where was your run?Did you do alot of hills today? Remember , we talked about these runs and how we may not feel our best on every run and that’s ok!! Tomorrow is another day/run and I am sure you will feel fine!! Dark chocalate and peanut butter…..yum, two of my favorite things!!!

  3. March 2, 2010 2:22 am

    I did the Cass Ave – Wood Ave – Diamond Hill loop. I actually felt strong during the run, but the wind and sand were a killer. It may not snow of May 2nd, but it could be windy!! Hopefully it was good training. After little frustration in the beginning, I worked it out and enjoyed myself – probably would’ve been better with a group 🙂

  4. March 2, 2010 9:51 am

    I’m glad it wasn’t anything serious with your puppy baby! Maybe it’s just his time of the month 😉

    Great run!!

Leave a Reply

