Skip to content

Happy at Grumpy’s

March 2, 2010

I had a long, hectic weekend.  I loved every minute of it, but I missed spending time with Adam.  We were both free tonight, so decided a quick dinner date was in order.  I was craving salad, so we went to the nearest salad bar at Grumpy’s.  They serve the usual pub grub along with plenty of seafood – and salad! I took me about 30 seconds to decide what I wanted.  Salad bar and grilled pizza – surprise, surprise!

I started at the salad bar and filled my plate.

A crunchy salad.

I ate this salad x2.  I enjoyed my salad, but it was definitely lacking.  The salad bar only had iceburg lettuce and I missed the dark, leafy greens.  The other veggies were all pretty green, too, and you know I love color!  They did have my favorite salad topping – raisins!  Maybe it wasn’t the most gourmet salad, but it did satisfy my craving.

I followed the salad up with my favorite food – pizza. Pizza never used to be my favorite food – nothing could get in the way of me and a buffalo wing! – but times have changed and I have a love for pizza like none other.  Adam teases me because I order it so often.  I don’t want to sound like a pizza snob, but I am definitely a little bit picky.  I love a thin crust, flame grilled, topped with homemade sauce, fresh cheeses, and veggies.  Tonight I broke the mold a bit and order the white pizza.

The White Pizza.

The pie had a perfectly thin, crispy crust and a nice balance of garlic, olive oil, cheese, and roasted red peppers.  After filling up on salad, I enjoyed a couple of slices before boxing this baby for Adam’s late-night snack.

I came home and played around on the computer for a bit before fixing a snack of my own.

Warm cinnamon apples with currants and sliced almonds.

I chopped up one of the macs from the farmer’s market dowsed it with cinnamon and added some currants and sliced almonds on top.  I nuked the fruit for about 1:30 and ended up with apple pie in a flash! The was comfort food – warm, sweet, and delicious!  The farmer’s market apple was perfect for this snack because it softened up nicely in the microwave.

Hope your night is ending on a sweet note!  Sweet dreams, sugarplum!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 1:39 pm

    I hate when salad bars only have iceburg. I only like romaine and spinach in my salads. Iceburg is like eating icecubes. Looks like a fun night 🙂

  2. March 2, 2010 1:44 pm

    We are pizza snobs, too 😉 We like to make pizza at home. As in, we’ve got a pizza stone, cutter, and special ingredients. I’ve made dough and sauce, but in a pinch Whole Foods has pretty good pizza ingredients too!

Leave a Reply

