Skip to content

Sunshine Day

March 2, 2010

When I rolled over this morning a ray of sunshine was peeking through my curtains!  A smile instantly formed on my face.  I have been waiting days – weeks, even – to wake up to the shining sun.  Lucy even hopped out of bed with a skip in her step.  I set out to have a great day…and I did!

After a nice day with the kiddos at work, I raced home to lace up my sneaks and get outside.  My car said it was 52*! Nothing could stop me from running outside with those temps.  Luckily, the winds from yesterday blew out of town, so it was a very mild afternoon.

With less layers, I felt good and wanted to move.  Today was an easy run day, so I just ran through my neighborhood.  It has a nice mix of uphills, downhills, and flats.

Total Distance: 2.41 m

  • Mile 1 – 8:44/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:58/mi
  • 0.41 m – 8:16/mi

Total Time: 21:09

Woot Woot! I’m so glad I was able to keep my pace under 9:00/mi for the entire run.  I’ve never been able to do that during an outdoor run before, so this was an accomplishment.  I love running outside and would love to avoid the treadmill, but that’s where I do my speed runs.  This quick little run showed me that if I really push it, I will be able to do some short, fast runs outside, too.  Yay!

***

Tuesday nights are my favorite because I go to a yoga class at 6:30.  Since it falls close to dinner, I can never decide whether I should eat before or after class.  Since I ran this afternoon, I decided to make an early dinner and eat beforehand.  I pulled out some frozen vegetable gyoza from Trader Joe’s.  I picked some up before the vegetarian challenge and hadn’t given them a try yet.

The frozen stuff.

I figured that dough wrapped around veggies wouldn’t be too bad and the ingredient list didn’t look scary.

TJ's Vegetable Gyoza

I just followed the directions for cooking these babies in the microwave.  I arranged the gyoza on top of steamed sugar snap peas and drizzled everything with low-sodium teriyaki sauce.  It took a total of 3 minutes to create this masterpiece!

My plate.

Eh…not terrible…not great.  This dinner was just not my style.  I’ll keep the bag in the freezer in case I’m in a pinch, but I would much rather microwave a sweet tater ‘n beans or throw together a salad or something.  It just felt so store-bought and didn’t really appeal to me.  Since dinner left much to be desired, I peeled a farmer’s market tangelo for a little dessert.

"Honeybell" Tangelo

It was sweet, juicy and everything a good citrus fruit should be!  My tangelo definitely made up for the less than perfect dinner!  I can’t wait to break into another one of these babies!

I’ve been on the go all afternoon and feel so ready for a soothing yoga class.  I also can’t wait to come home, take a bath, and chill with Lucy after!

Have a great night!  See ya in the morning!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 2:04 am

    The gyoza looks good, too bad it wasn’t up to par 😦 bummer.
    This weekend’s weather is supposed to amazing, and if it doesn’t change last minute, Monday and Tursday are going to be in the 50s!!! I know it’s a week away and it will most likely change but I got super pumped!

  2. March 3, 2010 3:32 am

    Great job on your run! Supposedly it was in the mid forties here, but I never made it outside during the day 😦

  3. March 3, 2010 6:56 pm

    So impressed with your pace!

    I also have some emergency potstickers in my freezer from TJ’s, but my other go-to emergency foods always seem to win-out…like cheese toast!

Trackbacks

  1. Easy Bake Oven « Beck On the Run

Leave a Reply

