Skip to content

Pumpkin Pancakes

March 3, 2010

This morning’s breakfast was so delicious, my camera ate the pictures! I documented the entire process of making my meal, only to have the pictures disappear into the technological abyss!  I tried to snap a couple later, but it’s just not the same – damn the digital age!

I decided to put a little extra effort into breakfast.  I thought about making the usual bowl of oats, but the falling snow inspired me to start the day with something special.  Since I can’t go too long without oatmeal, I went with a fun twist – Pumpkin Oatmeal Pancakes. I shared this recipe for blueberry oatmeal pancakes a couple of weeks ago. They were good, but these are better!

I started with a few simple ingredients:

Making Pumpkin Pancakes

Pumpkin Pancakes (one serving):

  • 1/3 c. quick-cooking oats
  • 1/3 c. liquid egg whites
  • 1/3 c. canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice or cinnamon
  • splash of pure vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Mix all ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Pour batter onto a preheated griddle/skillet, coated with non-stick spray.
  3. When the pancake slides, FLIP!
  4. When the pancake slides on the second side, DONE!
  5. Enjoy!

I topped my pancakes with a smear of crunchy almond butter, one small mashed banana, and a drizzle of maple syrup.  I presented it well…sorry you won’t be seeing that!  Instead, you get this lovely shot of my half eaten breakfast!

So tasty!

This was a winner! I often find myself eating the same bowls of oatmeal over an over again, so I need to remember this breakfast.  It was just as simple, but made my morning feel a bit more gourmet 🙂

Mother Nature is still playing dirty tricks on us – more snow!  No outdoor run in the plans, so it’s all good!

The scene.

Happy Hump Day!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 4:54 pm

    I know, I can’t believe that it is snowing! Just yesterday it was so beautiful that I was almost tricked into thinking that spring is on the way.

  2. March 3, 2010 10:50 pm

    Yum, yum, yum! Those look delish. Wishing I had planned breakfast-for-dinner tonight now.

  3. Betsy permalink
    March 4, 2010 2:05 am

    Made these for dinner tonight and loved them! They were great with applesauce on them!
    Thanks for the quick and easy and healthy recipe.

    • March 4, 2010 2:07 am

      Glad you enjoyed! Breakfast for dinner is the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

