Skip to content

Easy Bake Oven

March 4, 2010

When it was time for dinner tonight, I decided to let the oven do all the work.  I chose my ingredients.  I seasoned.  I roasted.

All roasty warm!

These were the components of my dinner.

Chickpeas: I drained and rinsed one 14.5 oz. can of chickpeas (garbanzo beans).  I drizzled with olive oil and lemon juice.  Then I seasoned them with salt, pepper, and rosemary.

Parsnips: I peeled and cut 3 farmer’s market parsnips.  These were also coated with a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper.

Brussels Sprouts: My favorite part!  I used fresh sprouts.  I halved them and again, coated lightly with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

I tossed everything onto a cookie sheet and roasted at 450* for about 20 minutes, flipping halfway through.

Din-din!

Jot this one down and give it a try.  It was a triple threat! I will definitely be adding this into my regular dinner rotation.  It was just as easy as last night’s gyoza with so much more flava! I also have plenty of leftover roasted chickpeas for salads and snacks this week – score!

I spent some time soaking in the tub after dinner.  I know that running is really hard on my body, so I try to give it the recovery it needs.  Tonight it was all about epsom salt and bubbles. I love the way baths soothe my muscles.  I already feel ready for tomorrow’s run!

When I got out of the tub, it was time for dessert.  My mom baked a blueberry bread today.  I never pass up homemade baked goods, so I cut myself a slice and paired it with some chocolate mint tea.

Tasty treats.

I’m excited to lay back and watch a little American Idol tonight.  I’m not a big fan of the auditions, so now that it’s down to the top 20, I’m ready to tune in!

Wednesday is almost done.  We got over the hump!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 1:38 am

    Your dinner looks great. I’ve never had a parsnip! What does it taste like?

    • March 4, 2010 1:54 am

      Parsnips are delish! They have the consistency of a carrot, but not the same flavor. The flavor is mild, but I don’t know what the compare it to….hmm…

  2. March 4, 2010 2:08 am

    Chocolate mint tea?!! Sounds amazing!

    Okay, I am the last one to try this roasted chick pea thing. You’ve convinced me!

  3. March 4, 2010 2:47 am

    I bought my own Dark Choc Dream pb so you’re off the hook. 🙂 But I’ll let you know if I need any other foods that my itty bitty grocery store never carries.

    And jealous you can bathe in your tub. At least I have my sauna. Haha.

  4. Meg permalink
    March 4, 2010 2:49 am

    I would liken the flavor of parsnips to turnips. Roasting is my favorite way to prepare veggies! Looks yummy Beck!

    • March 4, 2010 2:52 am

      Meg!! Thanks for visiting and for the parsnip-turnip comparison – perfect! You’re the best 🙂

Leave a Reply

