Skip to content

Going Green

March 5, 2010

Let me start with the workout.  I wasn’t really feeling it today.  It was dreary all day and the thought of being confined on a treadmill just didn’t appeal to me.  My body felt fine and I wanted to run, but I not under those conditions 😦

Instead of skipping a workout altogether, I told myself to make friends with the treadmill for at least 30 minutes.  I geared up and got my butt to the gym.  I plugged in the ipod and got moving.  Once I got going, I was able to bust out my planned training run.

Warm Up: 3 minutes @ 3.0 mph

Running: After the warm up, I brought my speed up to 6.5 mph for one mile.  I got a little bored at that pace, so I started working with intervals.  When I hit the 30 minute mark, I felt like I could keep going.  I followed I repeated these intervals the whole way through:

  • 2 minutes @ 6.5 mph (9:13/mi)
  • 1 minute @ 7.2 mph (8:20/mi)
  • 2 minutes @ 6.5 mph (9:13/mi)
  • 1 minute @ 8.0 mph (7:30/mi)

I completed 4.5 miles in 39:20! Done and done!

I have a definite love/hate relationship with the treadmill.  I feel like I complete some of my most effective training runs on it, but I get the least amount of joy out of it.

Do you run on the treadmill?  How do you feel about it?

***

I came home from the gym ready for dinner.  I needed veggies!  I still have not reintroduced meat into my diet, so I need my leafy greens.  I’ve been slackin’ on the salads! I was excited for a fresh salad tonight because I had plenty of roasted chickpeas and a new dressing for topping.

Crunchy and fresh.

My salad contained:

While I crunched on my lovely salad, my parents’ dinner cooked.  I felt like I could use some whole grains with my dinner, so I decided to taste one of their sides, Near East Wheat Pilaf.  It’s a product from the company’s line of whole grain blends.  The pilaf had a simple ingredient list with a base of bulgar wheat and orzo.

Something new!

I really liked it!  It had a nice, nutty flavor and each serving packs 7 g of protein. One of the serving suggestions was to mix with chickpeas and veggies…prepare to see that in the future!  I will definitely be picking up a couple boxes to have on hand.

This was exactly the type of dinner I wanted…and I discovered two wonderful new products! I hope you have the chance to give them a try!

Have you discovered any new products lately? I love trying new things, so do tell!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 1:19 am

    I run on the treadmill right now, but I think I’m going to have a mileage limit on it. I think it’ll be cut off after 6 miles- the thought of staying on it any longer than that is a bit daunting.

    • March 5, 2010 1:51 am

      My longest run on the treadmill was 5 miles….I agree, I don’t think I could make it past 6…thats almost and hour of my life that the machine could suck out of me!!

  2. March 5, 2010 3:51 am

    Congrats on your workout! I, too, feel like if I can just convince myself to go, and bargain that “oh, I’ll only do ten minutes or so – not the full workout anyway,” I can almost always get a much better workout than I had anticipated. But, it’s not as crushing as going with the initial daunting task I might have had.

    I generally like the treadmill, in part because I enjoy seeing my “progress” in the form of numbers. I’ve never really been an outside runner, but I hope I can change that. I think it’s often because I don’t have the wardrobe (or don’t know what my wardrobe should be) and I’m not good at setting out mileage, etc. Plus, I enjoy the “me” time of watching TV on the treadmill at the Y. But I also agree that I don’t think I could go past 6 or 7 miles on the treadmill (would that I had that problem!).

    Whew, I am long-winded!

  3. March 6, 2010 9:56 pm

    Its interesting you ask about the treadmill.

    I started on it two weeks back because the weather in Sweden was frightful. We have had heavy snow for three months. I am determined to run a whole Swedish winter outdoors but blending treadmill with outdoors because I am getting way too many niggles. When it melts its like running in sand.

    I hated my first session. I could not believe how much I missed the outdoor run. You know on Powerpoint if you press B, it renders the screen the blank, good little tip when giving a talk and you want people to focus on you.

    Well I wish the treadmill had a similar function as I hate looking at the clocks and info as I am running…!

    When I run outside I enjoy taking all the sights in but the treadmill, so boring! The only good thing is the sauna afterwards!

Leave a Reply

