Skip to content

Oats and Yoga

March 5, 2010

Happy Friday!

Smile, you're on candid camera!

I think my breakfast is smiling at you!  It’s a happy bowl of oatmeal because it’s Friday! Friday means fun for the kiddos at school and the beginning of the weekend.  Saturday is my favorite day of the week, but Friday comes in a close second.  I even made a special bowl of oats to kick it all off.

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1 c. water
  • 1 small banana, sliced
  • 1 heaping spoonful of canned pumpkin
  • dash of cinnamon
  • Toppings: 1 tsp. ground flaxseed, 1 T. peanut butter, dried cranberries,dark chocolate chips

I thought about using Dark Chocolate Dreams in my oats this morning, but I nixed the idea.  Sometimes I go a little overboard with the sweet stuff at breakfast and I feel like it leaves me craving more.  To have a completely satisfying breakfast, I have to keep the mix a bit more simple.

***

I’ll admit that I am a wannabe. I wannabe a yogi. I am so enthralled by the idea of yoga – hot yoga, power yoga, beach yoga – and the strength of those who practice.  I take yoga classes at my gym, but I’ve never been to a yoga studio.  I’m really intimidated! This week Tina posted her 30-day yoga challenge, while Heather wrapped up a 30-day challenge of her own.  All the yoga love in blog-land left me feeling empowered.  I have done some research and I think I may venture into a yoga studio for the first time this weekend.  I would like to increase my own practice a little.  I’m not doing any official challenge, but I am setting some yoga goals:

  • one gentle yoga class/week at the gym
  • one hot yoga class/week at the studio
  • one at-home yoga session/week

I always feel so much better when I incorporate yoga into my workout program, especially when I’m getting heavy on the running.  I respond pretty well to goal-setting – so hopefully this will help my overcome my fears!

Get inspired – it’s Friday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 4:21 pm

    I hate yoga, but I still do it because the stretch is good for my sore legs. It’s so boring though! Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

