Skip to content

The Best Defense

March 8, 2010

I woke up with that feeling in the back of my throat.  You know the one – scratchy and cutting – like something is brewing back there.  I immediately thought about my class last week.  Did anyone complain about a sore throat? Yes!  I knew I needed to take action…and fast!  I hate sickness.  I will not allow those nasty germs to invade my body!

I whipped up a very defensive liquid breakfast of Airborne and a Green Monster.

Fluids, fluids, fluids.

In my GM, I blended:

  • 2 large, packed handfuls of spinach
  • 1 c. skim milk
  • 1 small banana
  • 1/4 frozen mango chunks
  • 1 scoop Amazing Grass Green Superfood
  • 1 tsp. ground flaxseed

I’m not 100% convinced of the effectiveness of these homeopathic remedies, but I’m willing to try anything with immune-boosting qualities.  I know that it can’t hurt. I enjoyed my drinks – I really don’t mind the taste of Airborne – but I always need something to eat with breakfast, so I had a quick slice of pb+j toast.

Tried and true combo.

We’re looking at more gorgeous weather in the forecast!  That means recess and an outdoor run are in the plans for this afternoon!  I’m so looking forward to it.

Enjoy Monday!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 2:42 pm

    I am a big fan of juicing but I am not convinced one shot is going to help you fight off the germs. You need to take several a day and for a few days to see it off.

    Do you take wheatgrass and spirulina? They are very good.

    • March 8, 2010 10:10 pm

      I use the Amazing Grass blend – it has wheatgrass, barley grass, alfalfa, spirulina, spinach, chlorella, and broccoli. It also contains blends of antioxidants, fiber, and active cultures. I usually add it to smoothies and I should definitely use it more often for the immune boosting qualities!

      • March 9, 2010 8:57 pm

        I think you are well covered then.

        Try a search on youtube for ‘Jason Vale’ he is a very positive guy who promotes juicing in the UK. Very inspiring, he has some great recipe and nutrition books on Amazon. He has also run half marathons and indeed a full marathon at NYC.

        He is the guy that got me started on this healthy eating and running road.

  2. March 8, 2010 3:19 pm

    Hope your offense is strong!

Leave a Reply

