Skip to content

Spring Fever

March 9, 2010

Spring is in the air!  Everyone is feeling it.  My lil’ ones have started talking about leprechauns and Easter bunnies.  They want to wear short sleeves and play outside.  Luckily, I feel the same way!  I’ve been making the most of this spring teaser and spending as much time as possible outside.  Today was no different.  I usually run alone during the week, but I got a pleasant surprise today when my aunt called to say she was leaving work early and wanted to run with me.  I love running with her.  It’s fun to chit-chat and unwind on a run after work.

We met at the gym and set out on an afternoon recovery run.  I could hear birds and smell barbeque in the air.  I felt so free without the gloves, vests, hats, or wool socks that I’ve become so accustomed to.

Total Distance: 4.23 m

Total Time: 38:49 minutes

  • Mile 1 – 9:00/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:56/mi
  • Mile 3 – 9:15/mi
  • Mile 4 – 9:25/mi
  • 0.23 mi – 9:26/mi

It was a solid recovery run.  I felt great at the end and took plenty of time to stretch.  As my mileage creeps up, I am trying to place a bigger emphasis on stretching.  I know how critical it is for all athletes and I am sometimes too lax with it. It’s a personal goal to stretch well after every workout.

My run left me hungry, which was perfect because I met Adam for dinner!  We decided to grab a quick bite at Bellingham Palace, where we took advantage of their $5 Menu.  We ordered a chef salad, small cheese pizza, and fries.

A full table.

The salad was all mine! It was just a basic chef salad, but I really enjoyed it.  It came with zinfandel dressing – my fav – and was topped with freshly grated white cheddar.  I munched and crunched like a little rabbit through dinner.  Along with my salad, I ate slice of Adam’s pizza and a couple fries.  When Adam orders fries, he loads them with salt, pepper, and vinegar – not my thing – so I just snuck a few before they took their vinegar bath.

It was a relaxing and uneventful evening, which is the way I like the week to begin.  My throat is still a little scratchy, but nothing too serious – allergies?! Hopefully! I’ll call it a night early and hope for the best in the morning.

Have a great night, darlings!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

