Skip to content

The Course

March 9, 2010

When I met my aunt yesterday, she gave me some exciting news!  Cox Rhode Races posted the official course for the Willow Tree Half Marathon.  We’ve been waiting for this day – so anxious to know where we will run on May 2nd.  I’m pretty familiar with Providence, so I hoped I would recognize the course.  For some reason, it would comfort me to run on a known route.  Well…I don’t quite know the route, which brings me to the big question:  Do I drive the route to prepare for the race?

My aunt and I had a discussion about this.  She plans to follow the route in her car to mentally prepare for the run.  I can’t decide if this is something I should do or not.

Pros: Knowledge is power.  I may be able to train more effectively and put my mind at ease for race day.

Cons: I don’t want to take any chance that the course could psych me out before race day.  I want to experience the race to the fullest – seeing the course for the first time from a runner’s perspective.

Have you ever run a longer distance race?

Were you familiar with the course?

What would you do in this situation?

***

On to breakfast!  Yesterday I chose a defensive breakfast to fight the beginning of a cold.  I still feel the germs lurking in the back of my throat, but I couldn’t make it through another day without my oats.  I know a Green Monster would’ve been a better choice, but I all I wanted was something warm and comforting this morning.

Soothing the soul.

I mixed up a simple batch of Pumpkin-Banana Oats:

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1 c. water
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • 1/4 c. pumpkin, stirred in at the end
  • lots of cinnamon!
  • Toppings: dried cranberries, dark chocolate chips, 1 T. almond butter

This was one of the best bowls I’ve eaten in awhile.  The pumpkin was the perfect compliment to the sweet banana and the dark chocolate chips melted their way into the mix beautifully.  I used up the last of my canned pumpkin, so a trip to the market is in order!

Time to pack the lunch box.  Staff meeting today = extra snacks!


4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 2:27 pm

    I say just wing it. You can check out the course online just to have an idea of where you’ll be…and where your “photographers” can stand. But you’ve been training and preparing so there’s no need to see the course before hand.

    You’ll be fine on race day!

    • March 9, 2010 3:57 pm

      Yeah – that’s what I’m going to do! We’ll see the course for the first time together – yay!

  2. Betsy permalink
    March 9, 2010 2:49 pm

    Hi
    Like your blog! Love your recipes. Easy and tasty!
    As far as the 1/2 marathon question…..I wouldn’t drive the route. I have run 2 full marathons and 10 1/2’s and I didn’t know the routes on any ( unless I had run them previous years). Just know you have trained properly and are ready and you will do fine. Not knowing the route is 1/2 the fun, to me. It may take you to areas you didn’t know about.
    Hope this helps.
    Happy Training.
    Betsy

    • March 9, 2010 3:56 pm

      Thanks for the advice! It’s always reassuring to hear from people with experience. I”m with you – part of the fun is running a new course for the first time. I am so excited for this race and want it to be the best possible experience!

Leave a Reply

