Skip to content

A Classic Combo

March 10, 2010

Peas and carrots.  Spaghetti and meatballs.  Chips and salsa.

We all love classic food combos.  They are comforting and bring back fond memories.  This morning, I was craving the classics for breakfast:  Peanut Butter and Jelly Oats.

Simple and steamy.

It was a very basic mix:

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1 c. water
  • 1 small banana, sliced
  • 1 T. raisins, added during cooking
  • 1 T. Grammy Schartner’s Strawberry Jam – you go, Gram!
  • 1 T. Teddie’s Smooth Unsalted PB

My bowl had all the makings of a great PB&J.  I ate the classic sandwich almost everyday in elementary school.  I’ve always hated deli meat, so this was the best option for me.  I still love it and pack a PB&J for lunch at least once a week.  Yum!

I think my craving for comfort food might be a reaction to feeling icky! The nagging sickness is beginning to blossom.  I’m feeling more congested and blah…it’s definitely not a terrible cold and I’m a fighter!  I’ll be chugging H2O all day and beating this bugger with a big stick.  I haven’t resorted to cold medicine yet.  It makes me feel sooo groggy/drowsy…help!

What’s your best at-home cold remedy? I’ll try just about anything!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 2:42 pm

    Can you tell we’re related…. I had peanut butter and jelly oats for breakfast this morning too!

    My best cold remedy is to take NyQuil as soon as you get home from work and just sleep it off. And don’t be afraid to skip the gym. Remember…better to have a rest day and 1 great workout than 2 days in a row of crappy exercise.

    • March 10, 2010 4:24 pm

      I am a little obsessed with the fresh strawberry jam I bought last weekend – big berry chunks! I’m not running today, so it’ll probably be an easy day anyway. Maybe Lucy will get a nice walk before the weather turns on us again!

    • March 10, 2010 4:44 pm

      I second that emotion. Meds and rest.

  2. March 10, 2010 6:00 pm

    It’s probably all in my mind, but grapefruit juice is my go-to when I’m feeling a cold coming on. It’s really good to put half grapefruit juice and half plain seltzer over ice – the bubbles are fun, and it cuts on the calories and sugar. I just guzzle it down! I guess I don’t care if it’s all mental.

  3. March 10, 2010 7:28 pm

    I think I’m the only person on earth that doesn’t like pb & J. Pb and bananas is more my style.
    Get well soon!

  4. March 10, 2010 8:46 pm

    I don’t like taking medicine unless I absolutely have to, but Mucinex DM is great for a cold. Feel better!

  5. March 10, 2010 8:47 pm

    Oh and also, I had pbj for lunch today!

  6. March 10, 2010 10:58 pm

    I know you aren’t a medicine gal but whenever I am sick I always find that SLEEP makes me feel better the quickest. The problem is that I usually can’t sleep when I am conjested…so I am take Nyquil during the day AND the night to force my body into rest mode. It works! Hope you feel better soon!! 🙂

  7. March 10, 2010 11:08 pm

    Thanks for the remedies, ladies! I’m thinking a little dose of NyQuil may be in order before bed tonight. I’ll be sleeping like a baby.

Leave a Reply

