Skip to content

Will Run For Food

March 10, 2010

I had a staff meeting after work today, so I didn’t walk in the door until after 4:30.  I know that’s early for most, but it’s late for me.  I pack a lot into the late afternoon hours and time was of the essence.  With the sun still shining, I decided to do my short run outside.  I needed to be fast, so I could get back to make dinner.

With food on my mind, I hit the road.  My runny nose and scratchy throat lingered in the background – I just chose to ignore it and I just ran on.  The wind was brisk and I kept a pace to match it.

Total Distance: 2.73 m

Total Time: 23:20

  • Mile 1 – 8:25/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:46/mi
  • 0.73 m – 8:24/mi

Progress, people! I have be thinking a lot about indoor vs. outdoor runs.  I run for speed on the treadmill – on and off ASAP – and I simply run when I’m outside.  I’ve thought about how these runs impact my training and decided that I want to do at least one indoor run/week for speed purposes….but….runs like today’s make me want to rethink that.  I felt like a dog after his bone – only I wanted dinner! I’m so glad that I’ve been able to pick up some speed during my last couple short runs.  It makes me appreciate the beautiful weather even more 🙂

***

I had 23 minutes to plan my dinner.  I took action in the kitchen as soon as I got home.  First, I emptied the fridge.

Leftovers!

Our family has a tendency to stockpile leftovers, then fix a different meal every night.  Tonight, I decided to do some spring cleaning. My parents had their choice of baked chicken breast, stuffed chicken breast, sugar snap peas, and chicken soup!  There were small bits of everything, so I also threw together a batch of rice for them.

My dinner was slightly more exciting.  I’ve been dying to try the pumpkin ravioli I bought from Venda Ravioli in Providence. They sell the freshest, most flavorful homemade pasta varieties in the area.  It’s such a special treat to have their ravioli on a random Tuesday.  I didn’t feel like the pasta alone would make for a well-balanced meal, so I roasted some veggies.

Parsnips, butternut squash, and Brussels sprouts.

Dinner came together so nicely.  Maybe it wasn’t the most traditional combo, but it sure was tasty!

The main meal.

I didn’t have great sauce for the ravioli, so I topped them with freshly grated parmesan and toasted, slivered almonds.  The toppings really enhanced the sweet, creamy pumpkin filling.  It was like dinner and dessert all in one!  A -MAY – ZING!  If you are ever in the area, make a pit stop at Venda Ravioliit’s so worth it!

After dinner, I had plenty of time to make it to the 6:30 gentle yoga class at my gym.  The class was jammed!  I guess everyone needed to stretch tonight.  I found a place for my mat and left feeling warm and at ease.  All the twists in yoga gave me a chance to digest dinner and make room for dessert.

Vanilla Fro-Yo, Annie's Bunnies, and Dark Chocolate Chips.

Whew!  Time for a hot shower and warm bed! Sweet dreams from blog land!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 1:01 am

    Awesome run!!!

  2. March 10, 2010 3:19 am

    Great run! I know what you mean about indoor vs. outdoor. Right now it is so nice out that I am tempted to do all my runs outside… but I guess I’ve got to make use of my gym membership somehow!

Leave a Reply

