Skip to content

Apple Cinnamon OIAJ

March 12, 2010

OIAJ – oats in a jar.

Remember this?

All gone.

This morning it morphed into this!

Full tank.

It was one heluva jar ‘o oats, if I do say so myself!  I took a slightly different approach this morning and went with Apple Cinnamon Oats.

  • 1 Mac chopped
  • healthy dose of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1 T. raisins
  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1 c. + 2 T. water
  • 1 tsp. PB from the new Teddie’s jar

To cook up this batch, I started by tossing the chopped apples, cinnamon, vanilla and 2 T. water into my pan.  I let them soften on medium heat for about 3 minutes.

Sweet, cinnamon apples.

When the crunch was gone, I added the remaining water, oats, and raisins to the pan.

All together now.

I left the pan on medium heat until the water absorbed and the oats thickened.  When it reached the perfect consistency, I poured everything into my precious little jar.

Easy as pie!

This was a nice change from my typical banana oats.  It was like apple crisp for breakfast.  I didn’t add any sweetener to the mix, but the natural sugars of the apples and raisins gave just the right amount of sweet for breakfast.  I love peanut butter on anything, so I’m not complaining, but this blend would’ve worked been great topped with walnuts.  I think it would even be a great filling for the acorn squash I have sitting on the counter – now there’s a thought!

***

It was a photo frenzy at breakfast today.  I think I was trying to make up for the lack of photos from last night’s dinner.  Adam and I went out to Uno’s.  He’ll be working all weekend, so we wanted to squeeze in some time together before things got hectic.  The lighting was really dim and I didn’t want to waste time fiddling with my camera during dinner.  I will say that I ordered the Power Salad and it made a tasty meal.  It was a spinach salad, topped with carrots, tomatoes, red grapes, goji berries, craisins, almonds, and sunflower seeds.  I forgot to ask for dressing on the side, so I was pleasantly surprised when the salad arrived with just a light coating of vinaigrette.  It also came with a sinfully buttery, garlicky, carbo-licious breadstick, which I devoured!  Good Food + Good Company = Good Thursday.

TGIF! This day is off to a great start!  I’ve got something exciting in the works.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 1:47 pm

    I love Uno’s! I’ve never tried the power salad. I’ll check it out next time.

  2. March 12, 2010 4:20 pm

    OIAJ. I dream of them nightly.

  3. Patty permalink
    March 12, 2010 9:12 pm

    Brian had OIAJ today too! With chocolate chips and bananas! He told me to thank you for the idea…..it was yummy!

    • March 13, 2010 1:45 am

      Yummy combo! Glad you’re hopping aboard the oatmeal train 🙂

Leave a Reply

