Skip to content

A Sunny Disposition

March 13, 2010

The weather is getting worse, but my day keeps getting better!  I’m happy to report that I feel OK about this morning’s run and I’m moving on.  My sweet mother helped by taking me out to lunch.  I tagged along on some errands and we stopped for some eats at Panera.

A typical lunch.

I went with my usual “you-pick-two” combo of a classic cafe salad and 1/2 tomato-mozzarella panini.  I decided to request whole grain bread, but they pre-assemble hot paninis and told me it would be at least 15 minutes if I wanted a different bread?  Oh well – ya win some, ya lose some! The sandwich tasted delicious as it was.  We did have one small snafu, though!

Holy baguettes!

This is what happens when you forget to request a side at Panera.  With the “you-pick-two” comes a side of chips, bread, or an apple.  I always select the apple. Mom always selects the chips. Most of the time the cashier asks us what we want, but today everyone forgot and we ended up with lots of bread! Apparently it’s the default side.  We laughed – no biggie! – I just always feel bad wasting food.

***

We braved the elements for a good cause this afternoon:  St. Patrick’s Day! I needed green for Wednesday, but I also needed festive duds for the St. Pat’s 5K in Providence next Saturday.  The race is closed out, so it should be jam-packed with Irish excitement!

Kiss me!

I plan to wear this get-up over my running tights and fleece.  It’s not over the top, but shows some spirit!   I started getting psyched just picking things out at the store :).

When I got home, I put together a fun, summery snack.

A glimpse of summer.

I just need love the bright colors on a rainy day!  I cut up some cantaloupe and strawberries.  Then I topped them with ~4 oz of plain Greek yogurt, 1 T. slivered almonds, and 2 T. Fiber One.  It was a heavenly combo!  It had a wonderful blend of sweet, juicy fruit, creamy yogurt, and crunchy toppings.  I need more yogurt bowls in my life!

I contemplated plans for tonight and decided:  movie night! I’ve already pulled on my sweats and I’m staying dry in the house.  I’ll be browsing the OnDemand selections in no time!

Any good movie recommendations?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

