Skip to content

Dessert First

March 13, 2010

It was an unremarkable Friday.  I welcomed it.  Sometimes its nice to just go with the flow, stay chill, and enjoy a typical day. My favorite part of the day was dessert.  I had a hankering for some Coldstone, but I wasn’t interested in making the trip.  What’s a girl to do?! I brought Coldstone to my kitchen, of course!  I gathered up all the makings of a creamy, tasty treat…and that it was!

Berry, berry good!

I topped a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt with homemade strawberry jam and crushed Annie’s bunnies.  It was like a strawberry shortcake dream!  Exactly what I hoped for – and free!

***

Prior to my intense dessert craving, I enjoyed dinner with the Gram.  We went to Gregg’s.  They have a broad menu, reliable service – and the world’s greatest pickles!

Like Lay's - you can't have just one!

I don’t even like pickles, but I adore these!  They are perfectly pickled without that scary fluorescent green hue.  Keep the rolls, pass me some pickles!  I also started with a side salad, which escaped the camera’s lens.  For dinner, I went with scrod.  I’m not a big seafood person, but I live in RI – gotta go with fish once in awhile!

A new spin on an old favorite.

I didn’t realize how scary it looks until I uploaded to photo!  I promise, there was not a massacre at dinner – so much for food photography!  All we have here is a piece of fish topped with creole sauce instead of the butter crumb topping.  It was actually delicious – a spicy marinara/salsa mix – which I thoroughly enjoyed.  I paired the fish with a baked sweet potato.  It was one huge spud…so soft and sweet inside.  What a filling, however heinous-looking, dinner!

***

I’m laying out my gear for tomorrow’s run and I could use some last minute tips!  I’m planning to run 7-8 miles, but the forecast is bleak.  I plan to run outside, regardless, because I’d like to experience a rainy run.  I’m just not sure what to wear!  It’s supposed to be high 30’s, windy, and rainy.  I’ll only know for sure when I wake up in the morning, but I like to be ready!

Any “rainy run” tips you can offer would be greatly appreciated!

G’night, my loves!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 2:11 am

    Wow running in 30 degree weather with rain…you’re pretty awesome! That would send me straight to the treadmill! 🙂

    • March 13, 2010 2:36 am

      I don’t know about awesome – crazy, maybe?! We’re really hoping that if we get out there early we’ll beat the rain and only have drizzle to contend with. I’ve never run in the rain, but I figure I’ll give it a try before the race…just in case 🙂

  2. March 13, 2010 2:15 am

    My comment is to stay in your warm bed with your puggle and wait until Sunday to see if the weather improves……

  3. March 13, 2010 12:33 pm

    I think your dinner looks good. You’re right, you can’t pass up the fresh fish in RI!

    Good luck on your run. I’d stick to the treadmill, but my advice is to wear a hat and gloves. I’m not very helpful 😦

Leave a Reply

