Skip to content

Dinner Pie

March 14, 2010

A long time ago I was surfing the ‘net and stumbled upon this recipe for a crustless squash-spinach pie.  The pie reminded me of a quiche and looked so savory and delicious that I knew I had to have it.  I bookmarked the recipe and vowed to return to it.  As I said, that was a long time ago!  I decided I wanted something new for dinner tonight, so I browsed through my saved recipes and there it was!

The pie!

I’m not too picky when it comes to pie, but I rarely eat savory pies.  This was a new and fantastic twist on an amazing food!  I followed the recipe to a T, using the following ingredients in the filling:

  • squash – mostly spaghetti squash, some acorn squash
  • sauteed onions
  • spinach
  • cottage cheese
  • eggs
  • ground flaxseed
  • parmesan cheese

Warm, cheesy, and veggie-packed!

This pie was so light, fresh and delicious!  The ingredients were simple, but it was full of flavor.  It was veggie-riffic and packed a real nutritional punch.  Because the filling was mostly squash, the pie was voluminous, but light.  It’s a triple threat – perfect for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!  Along with my slice, I had a baby greens salad and a buttery piece of yoga toast.

Dinner for one.

I ate slowly and enjoyed this meal.  I feel like I eat out too often on weekends, so it was a nice change to make a healthy dinner at home on a Saturday night.  To digest dinner, I cuddled up with Lucy and watched Baby Mama on HBO.  Lots of laughs with Tina Fey and Amy Poehler…and some serious business, too.  Dynamic duo!

All the relaxing really put me in the mood for dessert.  I’m not hard to please in that department and when I opened the freezer door, I immediately knew what I wanted.

A bowl?!

No.  No bowl for me.  Why unnecessarily dirty a dish? There was about a serving left in the container and I ate until I hit bottom.  Mmmm…mmmm….look at those big, chocolatey cookie chunks!  I didn’t have to add anything to this fro-yo.  Everything I needed was in that little container.  I am a huge fan of all Stonyfield products, especially this stuff!

Perfect ending!  Have a lovely evening.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol permalink
    March 14, 2010 7:01 pm

    I see you put strawberries in your salad, was your craving satisfied??Spinach pie looks yummy, I think I may try that one.

    • March 14, 2010 8:20 pm

      Yep – got them at the market yesterday! They were the perfect addition to my salad 🙂

Leave a Reply

