Skip to content

My Raffa Experience

March 14, 2010

Last week I had my first experience with hot yoga.  I went to a nearby studio and knew I would try it again.  I loved the intensity – high heat, deeper postures, extended time.  I left feeling enlightened and yearning for more.  While I had a positive experience, I did not feel completely comfortable with the studio I went to.  Everyone was kind, but it still felt too solitary and new age-y for my taste.  I believe that the environment plays a crucial role in effective yoga practice, so I decided to try another studio and compare.

On the recommendation of Judy, the owner of my gym, I signed up for the Beginner Power Yoga class at Raffa Yoga in Cranston, RI.  Because I love my gym so much, I felt like Judy would really be able to point me in the right direction…and did she ever!

Everything about Raffa Yoga felt right to me.  The staff was so warm and welcoming.  The studio was spacious with plenty of natural light.  I knew instantly that I had found “my studio.”  The doors were open, so I got right in and set up my mat and props.  Chill music was playing through the speakers and everyone was chit-chatting before class.  When the instructor arrived, she joked and greeted everyone.  She took the time to learn a little bit about us, so she could challenge us appropriately.  She exuded confidence, strength, and positivity.

Class was 90 minutes long.  I wish I had pictures to show you all of the amazing things we did with our bodies.  I don’t do a lot of weight training, so I often see myself as weak.  Not today!  I refined my crow, held downward dog against the wall, and got really deep into camel.  I also got a bonus massage, as the instructor worked with everyone to deepen our practice.  My body and mind are very grateful right now!

Since it was my first time at Raffa, I got the newcomer deal – $40 for 2 weeks of unlimited yoga.  Yoga isn’t cheap and it’s not for everyone, but it’s worth it to me.  I hope to purchase class cards and continue attending classes at Raffa 1-2/wk. for now.

Seriously, if you are in the area and want to give this a try I highly recommend this studio!  Check out their website or contact me and we can go to a class!

***

Of course, I didn’t make it through that fabulous yoga class without fuel.  I had a creamy, dreamy bowl of oats for breakfast.

A rainy day breakfast.

Cinnamon-Raisin Oats:

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 c. Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 extra ripe banana, sliced
  • lots of cinnamon!
  • 2 T. raisins
  • 1 T. crunchy almond butter

The almond milk made this batch super creamy and delicious!  I also stood by the stove and stirred, stirred, stirred to get the banana all melted and whipped into the oats.  I love when simple ingredients work together so well!  Yum!  With my oats, I drank plenty of water to hydrate for yoga.

I ate breakfast at 8:00.  It held me over until I left the yoga studio at 12:45. At that point, I needed water and food – STAT!  There’s a Whole Foods right near the studio.  I had some coupons to use up, so I swung in, picked up some goodies – liter of sparkling water! – and made myself a big salad.

Fresh fuel.

My lunch contained:

  • romaine
  • shredded carrots
  • bell peppers
  • peas
  • grilled zucchini and summer squash
  • roasted eggplant and artichokes
  • spicy quinoa salad
  • parmesan cheese
  • balsamic vinegar +  evoo

It looked so good, I sat down and ate it in the store.  I even got a free sample of a little chocolate chip cookie for dessert. Nice!

This day is shaping up to be a lot like yesterday – relaxing! This is what weekends are made for!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

