Skip to content

I forgot to mention…

March 15, 2010

…that I registered for another race!  Race season is upon us and I am pumped.  My first race was a 5K last September, so I this is the first year that I will enjoy a full season of races.  Every time I hear about a race, I want to do it, but it’s pricey, so I’m trying to prioritize.  This race was a priority!

I registered for the B.A.A. 5K.  The race is part of Boston Marathon weekend, taking place Sunday – 4/18.  Melissa is also running, so we made plans for a fun running weekend!  We want to experience everything that Marathon Weekend has to offer.  I cannot wait to be a part of the festivities and cross that finish line!

***

Now I’ll catch you up on my eats.  I snuggled into my pj’s pretty early yesterday and decided to make dinner at home.  I had a craving for Mexican food, but didn’t have all the ingredients for tacos, fajitas, or enchiladas.  Have no fear!  I stuck with the Mexican vibe and threw together a tasty Fiesta Pizza.

Pizza with a kick!

I used a thin whole wheat pizza shell and layered on the toppings:

The salsa was a great sauce replacement – so smoky and spicy.  I was looking for a lot of heat, so I drizzled some Frank’s Red Hot on my slices, too.  I cut the pizza into quarters.  I ate 3/4 for dinner and have another slice for lunch – yay!  Love satisfying cravings.

As you know, I never go to bed without dessert.  Lately I feel like I’ve been getting a little bit carried away with the sweet stuff.  The more I eat, the more I want.  So I decided to try some healthier dessert options.

Fruit and yogurt.

I filled my bowl with fresh cantaloupe and strawberries, topped them with a dollop of plain Fage (1/2 container), and a sprinkle of Galaxy granola.  Sweet success! I am so looking forward to summer.  I need more bowls of fruit in my life!

When I woke up this morning, I had last night’s dessert on my mind.  I decided to incorporate fresh strawberries into my breakfast.

Fresh berries make everything better!

Strawberry Coconut Oats:

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 c. almond milk
  • 1/2 c. water
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla extract
  • Toppings: strawberries, shredded coconut, dark chocolate chips, crunchy almond butter.

This bowl was light on the toppings, heavy on the fruit.  The strawberries were so sweet and delicious.  Such a cheerful breakfast almost made me forgot that I’ve been stuck in a monsoon for days!

It’ll be back to the treadmill later…time for work now!  Happy Monday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 15, 2010 4:22 pm

    I had strawberries on my oats this morning too! They were so fresh and delicious. Yours look yummy too!

    Good luck in your races!

Leave a Reply

