Skip to content

Take That, Treadmill!

March 15, 2010

I was all keyed up after work.  I was ready to run.  The rain was coming down.  The winds were blowing.  It was going to be me and the treadmill.  This was my chance to prove to myself that I could take it!  The biggest challenge of the treadmill is all mental for me.  The treadmill beat me on Saturday, but I wasn’t letting it happen again.

I was hungry after work, so I fueled up with a Clif bar.

These bars pack a punch.  I don’t typically eat such calorie-dense snacks, but I felt like I needed it.  The carrot cake flavor was good.  It had some spice and a nice texture…just missing the cream cheese frosting!  The bar did its job and I was ready to roll.

I usually run intervals on the treadmill because they keep me occupied and interested.  Today I decided to switch things up and work on some negative splits:

Warm Up: 4 minutes @ 3.5 mph

  • Mile 1 6.5 mph (9:13/mi)
  • Mile 2 – 6.8 mph (8:49/mi)
  • Mile 3 6.9 mph (8:41/mi)
  • Mile 4 – 7.0 mph (8:34/mi)
  • Mile 5 – 7.1 mph (8:27/mi)
  • Mile 6 – 7.2 mph (8:20/mi)

Total Running Time: 51:30 minutes

Wahoo! That was my longest and fastest treadmill run ever!  I feel redeemed.  I only planned to run 5 miles today, but I was feeling good so I snuck in an extra mile.  I’m running in the St. Pat’s 5K on Saturday –hoping for a PR – so I might shave a mile off of Thursday’s run in preparation.

***

Adrenaline still pumping, I came home and put together dinner: Roasted Chicken and Veggies over Penne.

Simple dinner.

This meal would easily serve six.

The Chicken: Cut 1.5 lbs of boneless skinless chicken breast into strips.  Drizzle with olive oil.  Season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  Roast at 375* for 30 minutes.  Shred with a fork when done.

The Vegetables: I didn’t have fresh on hand, so I steamed frozen broccoli and asparagus for 2:30 minutes.  After steaming, I drizzled them with olive oil, salt and pepper, and added a teaspoon of minced garlic to the mix.  Spread the veggies in an even layer on a baking sheet and roast at 425* for ~20 minutes.

While the chicken and vegetables roasted, I made a box of whole wheat penne.  Everything was combined and topped with sun-dried tomatoes and freshly grated parmesan.  Some family members added marinara, but I opted for simplicity and ate my dinner without sauce.  It was fresh, healthy, and delicious!

***

I’m off to pick up Lucy’s ear cleaner at the vet – hopefully they don’t take my right arm while I’m at it! Man, I could buy  diamond earrings for myself with what I’ve spent at that place!  I’ll use the time wisely and plan a healthy indulgence for later….hmmm….

Hope Monday treated you well!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 2:35 am

    Hi Beck!

    Just wanted to say I am enjoying your blog. Thanks for being an inspiration!

  2. March 16, 2010 8:45 am

    The treadmill is easier for me than running outside. It can get boring, but so can running outside….to me anyway. Great job conquering your fears!

  3. March 16, 2010 5:22 pm

    Awesome run! The treadmill is definitely a mental game. I try to tell myself that at least I can switch it up between music, TV, and people watching. It’s nice to have my water bottle right there, too!

  4. Diana permalink
    March 17, 2010 1:20 am

    Becky have you tried Meur Fire Roasted canned tomatoes? Try them and let me know what you think if you haven’t tried them yet.

    • March 17, 2010 1:23 am

      I haven’t tried them yet, but I might actually have a can on hand – if not, I’ll definitely give them a try!

Leave a Reply

