Skip to content

I wanna soak up the sun…

March 16, 2010

Channeling my inner Sheryl Crow this afternoon – thank you, Mother Nature! My car’s temperature gauge read 61* this afternoon!  It’s sunny with a subtle breeze.  Spring has sprung! The forecast for the rest of the week is just as spectacular, too.

You know I had to run outside.  I came home for a quick snack before my workout.

Hummus and pita chips.

I had a little serving of pita chips with some zesty tomato-basil hummus.  It was a tasty snack, but not an ideal pre-run choice.  The chips were too salty and I felt thirsty the whole time.  Lesson learned!

Ready to run.

Just like Lucy, I shed in the spring.  It felt amazing to pull on short and a shirt for my run.  No more hats, gloves, gators – sayonara, winter!  I was on cloud nine for the entire run – soaking up the warm sun and spring air.  I kept moving at a good clip for three miles.

Total Distance: 3.0 miles

Total Time: 25:18 minutes

  • Mile 1 – 8:15/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:27/mi
  • Mile 3 – 8:38/mi

After pushing myself pretty hard on the treadmill yesterday, I really wanted to enjoy today’s run.  I’m so happy that it was enjoyable and fast!

***

I really want to maximize my 2 weeks of unlimited yoga at Raffa, so I’m headed to a hot vinyasa power class at 7 – can’t wait! I decided to so dinner early so I wouldn’t go to yoga with a full stomach.  On the menu – quesadillas! OK, not real quesadillas, but I worked with what I had.

Dinner is cookin!

I piled the inside of a Joseph’s lavash wrap with:

  • Mexican shredded cheese
  • black beans
  • red peppers
  • chopped broccoli
  • chipotle salsa

Then I folded the wrap in half and toasted it up on a hot griddle for a few minutes on each side.

Toasting it up.

Once it was crisp on the oustide, I knew it was ready to eat.  I plated this baby up, cut it into four strips, and enjoyed!

Muy bueno!

Dinner was chock full of veggies and warm, gooey cheeses.  Everything I love wrapped in a healthy carbohydrate.  I feel great.  Refueled and ready for another challenging yoga session.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

