Skip to content

Keep It Simple

March 16, 2010

I’ve had an empty baby Barney Butter jar hanging around for awhile.  It was too small for oats, so I just kept moving around in the cupboards.  My parents tried to throw it out a few times, but I rescued it – saving it for a rainy day! If you looked out the windows yesterday, you know, that rainy day came!

My baby jar turned into a warm, cozy little dessert.

Dessert...Beck-style!

AIAJ (apples in a jar!):  It was so simple.  I just stuffed this guy with a chopped mac, lots of cinnamon, and a few raisins.  I heated it up in the micro for 40 seconds, stirred and heated for another 30 seconds.  Easy as apple pie! I topped the mixture with  1 T. of Galaxy granola because I can’t stay away from the stuff. The scrapings of leftover Barney Butter melted into the mix and made this dessert a winner!

Apple-tastic!

CAUTION:  These little jars come with that silly foil on top.  Make sure it’s all gone before zapping it.  Things get ugly when you microwave foil….not that I would know…

***

I decided to stick with the almond butter trend and had a simple breakfast of yoga bread smeared with almond butter and banana.

Powering my day.

I can’t say enough good things about this bread.  It fills me right up and have enough flavor to satisfy my taste buds – and they’re not easily satisfied!

I’m seeing some sunshine peeking through the branches.  NEED. SUN. NOW.  I’m penciling in recess for this afternoon!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 2:59 pm

    Hooray for sunshine! I think we all need a healthy dose of Vitamin D!

  2. March 16, 2010 4:03 pm

    So thats why my PB jar sparked in the microwave!! there must be foil still around the edges! Duh Julie.
    PS – not jar is too small for jar oats.

  3. March 16, 2010 5:19 pm

    That dessert looks amazing! Yum!!

    We finally got some sunshine here, too. It was so nice to put on sunglasses this morning 🙂 Enjoy your day!

Leave a Reply

