Skip to content

On The Mat

March 17, 2010

I spent Tuesday night “on the mat.”  So much happens there.  I bring a lot to the mat and a leave a lot there.  Forgive me for spewing cliches, but each yoga class has been a transformative experience.  I leave each class with a greater sense of clarity and mindfulness.  I feel empowered to deal with the the things life throws at me with a stronger presence of mind.  I am so grateful that I found this studio.  I always want to go back for more.

***

My dinner was the perfect size for a pre-yoga meal, but I was ready for a snack when I came home.

More strawberries.

You’ve seen it before: strawberries, 1/2 container of plain Fage, and Galaxy granola.  It was sweet, crunchy, and creamy.  I’ve missed fresh strawberries all winter and these were delish!  I don’t crave ice cream and cookies nearly as much when I have these on hand.  I also drank a lot before bed – hydrate!

***

It was a morning for oats.  Sometimes I layer my oats with a gazillion toppings!  Today, I kept it super simple.

Good morning, oats.

Basic Banana Oats:

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 c. almond milk
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • dried cranberries
  • 1 T. almond butter

I’m loving the additional of the almond milk!  I don’t think I’ll return to oats + water.  The almond milk really enhances every bowl.  I’m feeling perfectly fueled for the day.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Kiss me, I'm Irish!

I love to embrace my Irish side on St. Patty’s Day.  Time to enjoy the festive day with all my little leprechauns!

What will you do to celebrate St. Pat’s? I’m running in the St. Pat’s 5K on Saturday and I’m sure I’l head to Gram’s for some a corned beef dinner at some point.  Maybe I’ll throw in a green beer for good measure!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 2:35 pm

    I’m wearing my green Flogging Molly t-shirt to work to celebrate the day. And I’d love to find an Irish bar in Boston w/out a really long line to get in. Just 1 drink to celebrate! 🙂

  2. March 17, 2010 5:21 pm

    I’m so inspired by your fitness story! I am trying to get into shape and I feel like I’m just spinning my wheels. Any good tips you can share about your success?

  3. March 17, 2010 7:47 pm

    Happy St. Pattys Day! You look cute in your green shirt 🙂

Leave a Reply

