Skip to content

Ready to Race

March 20, 2010

This post if being brought to you by my much more astute alter ego – Rebecca.

Totally serious!

I’m rockin’ the new specs.  Picked ’em up today.  I only need glasses for close-up work – like blogging! – so I got a trendy pair.  I feel like I have a new fashion accessory.  Call me pathetic, but these things excite me!

***

I planned a busy afternoon around town and needed some quick fuel after work.  I dug into a new Luna Protein Bar.  This was my first taste of one.  I had the Chocolate Peanut Butter flavor.  It was ok.  The chocolate coating was good and the bar had a dense, nougat-y center.  It wasn’t as peanut buttery as I would’ve liked.  At first I was pretty apathetic, but towards the middle I bit into some chunks of peanut and things got better.  It also did its job and sustained me until dinner.

***

This was the best part of the day!

St. Pat's 5k - feel free to cheer!

After work I picked up my race packet for the St. Pat’s 5K.  I am so excited for this race.  I am completely comfortable with the distance, so I registered for this to experience everything else it has to offer – namely, crowds and d-tags.  I ran two 5K’s last fall…the only two races of my life.  The first was a less than stellar trail run experience, the second was a small town fun run.  Both were great learning experiences and I expect the same of tomorrow.  I want to be a part of this atmosphere before the half marathon in May.  When I went to get my packet there were already encouraging banners hanging along the route.  I know it will be a good time!

***

After errands, it was time for dinner.  Gram and I went to Incontro in Franklin, MA.  I’d heard good things about it, but this was my first visit.  The restaurant is inside a refurbished mill and puts out a cool vibe.  We sat in a large, comfortable booth and a server quickly greeted us.  Gram and I played it safe tonight – I have a race tomorrow! – and ordered a simple dinner. [Please excuse the photo quality.  I didn’t want to be a disruptive patron, fiddling with my flash.]

Warm, fresh Italian bread to start.

Love me some bread!

The bread good, but the dipping oil was amazing! It was a blend of olive oil and pureed cannellini beans, topped with cracked black pepper.  I’ve never had this combo with bread and it was perfect.  I enjoyed one slice, generously dipped!

Time for salad.

Dark, leafy greens.

I ordered the mixed baby greens salad, topped with sliced parmesan and a lemon vinaigrette.  The dressing was so light and citrus-y, pairing nicely with the mild, saltiness of the cheese.  I love starting dinner with a fresh salad, and that’s exactly what this was.

Pizza, pizza!

Hot from the grill.

As our entree, Gram and I split the wood-grilled margherita pizza.  It had a thin, but doughy crust with a homemade tomato sauce topping.  I’m a huge fan of the mozzarella, so this pizza was a hit!  I had three slices before declaring fullness.  I went with the center slices, so I could maximize the toppings – my favorite part.

We declared that it wouldn’t be long before our return to Incontro.  Good food, good service, pleasant atmosphere.  The restaurant also had an inviting patio, which would be beautiful on a summer night.  It earned Beck’s seal of approval!

Of course, dinner is never complete without dessert.  I wasn’t interested in anything fancy, but wanted something. We opted for Coldstone!  I’ve been craving Coldstone for awhile and went for it tonight.

Cold, creamy, sweetness.

They never disappoint!  I ordered a small cup of Sinless Sweet Cream ice cream with Heath Bar mixed in.  I savored every last lick!  It was creamy and dreamy.  I know I’ll have all the glycogen I need for tomorrow’s race :).

It’s time to lay out the gear and settle in.  Lucy is waiting!  G’night, bloggies!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Patty permalink
    March 20, 2010 2:57 am

    Love the new glasses Rebecca!! Hehehe Just wanted to wish you a wonderful race tomorrow! Good luck with the PR! Know that Mikey and I will be cheering for you! 🙂 Enjoy!

  2. Pamela Paige permalink
    March 20, 2010 11:28 am

    Good luck, Becky! Hopefully we can find you amongst the 4000 runners. Maybe you will cross the finish line first to make it easier for all your spectators……

  3. March 20, 2010 3:01 pm

    Cute specs!
    Good luck in your race 🙂

Leave a Reply

