Skip to content

St. Pat’s 5K

March 20, 2010

St. Pat's 5K - 3.20.10

I had an AMAZING morning.  I woke up with a skip in my step and a twitch in my legs. I felt ready to race. My last race was a 5K in October and I was anxious to kick-off the 2010 race season.  I fueled up with my favorite pre-run breakfast.

Yoga bread with PB, jam, and 1/2 a banana.

It wasn’t long before I joined the crowds in Providence for the big race.  There were 4000 registrants, so I arrived early and had plenty of time to relax and enjoy the atmosphere before the start.  There were so many people, all dressed and showing their St. Patrick’s Day spirt – myself included!

3389. Before I knew it, we were lining up at the start.  I was conflicted about where to stand, but knew I was ready to push myself – with the 8 minute pace!

Yikes!

Getting things moving.

We were packed in pretty tight at the beginning, but I managed to weave through the masses and hit my stride.  I kept a comfortably hard pace throughout the race, hoping to beat my personal record. I tried not to spend too much time looking at the Garmin, but I felt like I was running strong the entire race.

Before I knew it, I was on the home stretch.  I glanced at the Garmin and knew I would set a new personal record!

According to Garmin:

Total Distance: 3.13 m

  • Mile 1 – 8:00/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:22/mi
  • Mile 3 – 7:58/mi
  • 0.13 m – 00:54 (7:14/mi)

Total Time: 25:15!!!!

Sporting a medal.

I felt great as I crossed the finish line.  I’m more excited than ever about running and can’t wait for my next race!  Running gives me a sense of accomplishment that I have never experienced before.  It was a fabulous experience to run with 4000 hard-working participants and I loved every minute of it!

***

By the time we left the scene, I was ready for lunch.  We hit up Gregg’s for a quick, easy meal…and lots of their famous pickles!

Gregg's Famous Pickles!

I went with a simple salad and sandwich combo.  I ordered the Thanksgiving sandwich – turkey, stuffing, and cranberry sauce on multigrain toast.

Garden salad with zinfandel dressing.

My sandwich...and another pickle!

I’m not a big sandwich girl – hate deli meat – but this sandwich is so yummy!  It’s just like a turkey dinner.  I love the fresh carved turkey and sweet, tart cranberry sauce with a thin layer of stuffing.  I ate half and brought the rest home for Dad.

***

There’s still time to enjoy this beautiful day!  I can’t leave Lucy out of all the excitement, so we’re going for a walk.  Hope you are have a glorious springtime Saturday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 2:42 am

    Hey Becky! I have been kind of MIA for the past few days so I just read this post. Congrats on your 5K! That’s a great time, and with such beautiful weather this weekend it must’ve been a really great day to run.

    I love Gregg’s! Funny thing about those pickles. I HATE pickles, but I somehow like those!

    • March 23, 2010 10:49 am

      I’m the same way…I only eat Gregg’s pickles!

Leave a Reply

