Skip to content

Sunday in Springtime

March 21, 2010

I have a super busy work week ahead of me.  Instead of dwelling on Monday’s return – bad habit, I know – I decided to cram in tons of fun today!

After my run, I met up with Adam and we enjoyed a Sunday breakfast at Bellingham Palace.  I ordered a hearty bowl of oatmeal with blueberries and bananas.

Loads of oats!

This bowl was the size of my head!  I couldn’t believe how much oatmeal was there.  Actually, I ate every bite.   Without the addition of healthy fats/protein (nut butters), I needed this big bowl to refuel after my long run.  We enjoyed our leisurely breakfast before heading off to our day’s activities.

When I got home, I went with my mom to check out another local farmer’s market.  We left within 10 minutes.  It was more like a bake sale than a farmer’s market.  I didn’t see any fresh produce!  I did manage to make two great purchases, which made the trip worth my while.

Carrot Cake Jam - heaven in a jar!

Irish Soda Bread...from Great Harvest!

When I tasted Jessica’s carrot cake jam, I had to have it! It was dessert in a jar.  How perfect!  Then I stumbled upon the Great Harvest table and nearly jumped for joy!  I read about their breads on Kath’s blog almost daily and have longed for the day when I could bite into a chunk of their fresh baked delights.  Lately, Meghann has been raving about the Irish Soda Bread, so I picked up a loaf.  Okay, so the farmer’s market wasn’t so bad after all!

The farmer’s market was only the first stop on the errand list for the day.  We continued on our way, browsing through Gapno purchases! – and stocking up on groceries before swinging in to Whole Foods to grab a quick lunch.  I made a salad and took it to go.

Fresh box o' veggies.

Back at the ranch, I added to lunch.  I toasted a slice of Irish Soda Bread and topped it with cream cheese and carrot cake jam.

Wowza!

This is truly what dreams are made of. I felt like I was biting into a little slice of heaven.  Believe me, I savored every bit of it and can’t wait to go back for more.  I felt like I was eating a decadent piece of rich carrot cake…without any of the unhealthy ingredients! You have to give this a try!

Lunch charged me up for another round of exercise.  This time I went light and took Lucy for a walk around the neighborhood.  We walked for about 2.5 miles and enjoyed the sights, smells, and sounds of spring in the air.

Spring in bloom.

Photo shoot.

I had a quick snack as soon as I got home.

A juicy orange.

Then it was time to get to work!

  • Bathe Lucy! She hates it, but it’s a must, especially when the weather gets warmer.  She spend lots of time outside and sheds like a crazy beast!

Scrub-a-dub-dub! Lucy's in the tub!

  • Homework! It’s report card season, folks!  That means Miss Paige has lots of paperwork! I despise paperwork, but it’s part of the job and needs to get done.  I’m also part of a research project that requires additional paperwork, so I dedicated at least three hours of my afternoon to this fun stuff.

Organized chaos.

  • Dinner! It had to be super speedy tonight because I was short on time and high on hunger.  I quickly roasted some Brussels sprouts and acorn squash and added some pumpkin ravioli sprinkled with cinnamon.  Filling and satisfying!

Dinner in a flash.

How ’bout that for a marathon post?! Time to unwind with a bath and some TV.  I feel like I’ll be crashing early tonight.

Hope you had a lovely weekend!  See y’all on Monday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 9:55 pm

    I must say your posts make me very jealous. I enjoy living in Sweden but you guys have access to some amazing food, I am jealous!

Leave a Reply

